Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
Exhibition view: Ron Moppett + Damian Moppett (Every Story Has Two Sides), Art Gallery of Alberta, 2016. On the wall, to the left: Ronald B. Moppett, Red Chair/Studio, 1984, mixed media on paper. Collection of the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Purchase – Special Purchase Assistant Grant, Canada Council for the Arts, 1990 (990.09). Courtesy of the Art Gallery of Alberta. Photo: M.N. Hutchinson, Calgary

CIRCULATING WORKS

INTERNAL LOANS

There are nearly 80 works from the collection on loan on the two campuses of Concordia University. Some of these works are located in public areas, but most can be found in University administration offices. Loans are granted according to the Gallery’s Loan Policy.

EXTERNAL LOAN

Each year, works from the collection are also loaned to other institutions to be presented in solo and group exhibitions. No work from the collection is currently circulating outside of the University’s campuses.

REPRODUCTIONS

The Gallery regularly receives reproduction requests from other art institutions, publishers or independent authors. The billing and delivery of reproductions are managed in accordance with the Gallery’s dissemination of works from the collection in digital format Policy.

Photographs of the works from the collection can be provided free of charge when they are required for study, research and personal documentation purposes.

ACCESSING THE collection

The Gallery occasionally exhibits works from its collection as part of its contemporary programming.

The virtual exhibition Collecting. The Inflections of a Practice presents more than 250 works from the collection in connection with collecting issues. It allows one to learn about some important moments in the history of the Gallery and its collection.

One can consult the contents of the collection using the online databases of The Canadian Heritage Information Network (CHIN), Artefacts Canada and the Société des musées québécois (SMQ), Info-Muse.

VISITING THE VAULT

The Gallery’s vault can be visited on request and by appointment.

USE OF THE collection

Today, the Gallery collection’s is used for research purposes. Exhibition curators, writers, historians, professors, researchers and publishers use it as a resource to develop or complete their exhibition projects and research. Each year, the Gallery receives a dozen or so requests for loans or reproductions from various institutions in Canada and abroad.

The collection serves as an educational tool. It is put to use in various projects which promote learning in the fields of art history and museology. For example, the Gallery regularly collaborates with Concordia University art history students. Moreover, it periodically offers internships for students in the M.A. program in Museology, which is jointly managed by the Université du Québec à Montréal and the Université de Montréal.

In the same vein, the Gallery takes advantage of its university status to offer its collection as platform for experimentation. It welcomes and solicits projects from students and professionals exploring the collection and developing critical thinking in regards to artistic and museological issues, or issues pertaining to other fields of knowledge. Though these projects can take various forms, exhibitions and publications are the most frequent ones.

INTERPRETING THE COLLECTION FROM A CRITICAL POINT OF VIEW         

The creation of the Max Stern Curator position (2004) and the continuation of the moratorium on acquisitions (2003-2010) made it possible to enhance the visibility and knowledge of the collection and to adopt a more critical approach. It is in this context that the exhibition program Collection emerged to more deeply explore the various aspects of the collection. Collection 1: Yves Gaucher – Les Danses Carrées and Collection 2: Sur le vif: Tom Gibson et Sam Tata, were curated by Nathalie Garneau and presented at the Gallery from May 25 to July 9, 2005 and from March 22 to April 15, 2006, respectively.

In 2008, the guest curator Andrew Hunter created an autobiographical narrative by selecting and exhibiting modernist works from the Gallery collection that echoed his childhood dreams. This is Montréal! presented the aesthetic memory that the artist, writer and curator associated with the city of Montreal after his first visit in the early 1970s. The exhibition stimulated reflection about issues related to the contingencies of memory and fictional constructions, as well as the diversity of potential narratives which can be expressed through the intermediary of a collection. Through this process the curator presented the exhibition medium and the collection as temporal markers.

Read more

In 2009, guest curators Rebecca Duclos and David K. Ross exhibited as many works from the collection as possible currently stored in the vault in their exhibition As Much As Possible Given the Time and Space Alloted, in order to give shape to their thoughts about curating and the dissemination of works. They camouflaged their subjectivity using a selection and installation system that raised questions about the intellectual property linked to curatorial projects and about the fact that certain works in museum collections remain invisible to the public eye. Moreover, this process-based exhibition presented the activities that are part of an exhibition display, i.e. the production of a condition report, the moving, installation layout and storage of works, so as to reveal the operations which are usually kept out of public view. In creating a mix of works that does not follow ideological, chronological or aesthetic guidelines, the curators succeeded in presenting what goes on behind the scenes in a museological institution and its collection.

In 2010, Mélanie Rainville, the Max Stern Curator at the time, organized the exhibition Collecting. The Inflections of a Practice comprised of a great number of objects from the collection. She used the collection as a tool (an exhibit, evidence) to assert that the collection reveals its own history. In order to demonstrate this, she pointed to various aspects of the exhibited works by way of extended labels. The content of this project, which focused on the Gallery’s collection practices via the type, number and condition of the works it conserves, was presented in the form of a website. This site, at the intersection of a virtual exhibition and exhibition archive, has been available online since 2011.

In 2012, the Curator took advantage of the collection’s fiftieth anniversary to organize two curatorial projects. In the dialectical context of INTERACTIONS, she created a space to reflect about the reception of art by the viewing public, and more specifically about the gap that separates museum institutions where contemporary art is exhibited and the public. The curator juxtaposed a selection of contemporary works from the collection with video and textual documents, which communicated interpretations of the works made by various contributors invited to participate in the project.

In 2014, the collection was highlighted as part of Speculations. Risquer l’interprétation, a progressive and experimental exhibition focused on the interpretation and instrumentalization of works, and on memory within the context of an overabundance of cultural programming. The Curator brought together several of the Gallery’s recent acquisitions so as to reveal aspects of the exhibition curator’s work, such as the use of two dimensional graphic plans to develop the physical layout of the exhibition. She revealed the complexity of the chosen works, the multiplicity of the interpretations they become the subject of, as well as some of the consequences of imposing a set interpretation through the exhibition medium. She thus recalled that there is no such thing as a single correct interpretation of the works and that, consequently, exhibition curating is of a speculative nature.

The satellite exhibition SIGHTINGS was inaugurated in the same year in order to assess the limits of the modernist exhibition space, often called the “white cube” in art world jargon. To this end, the Gallery invited Concordia University graduate students in Studio Arts and Art History to organize exhibitions with works from the collection that would subvert the SIGHTINGS exhibition structure—a literal white cube. Five projects were presented in the structure while it was located on the metro level of Concordia University’s EV building in 2013. A second programming cycle began in 2013 and, shortly afterwards, the structure was moved to the ground floor of the University’s Hall building. The program now makes it possible for professionals to develop exhibition projects around works of any provenance for this atypical space.

Close

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
Vue d’exposition : Ron Moppett + Damian Moppett (Every Story Has Two Sides), Art Gallery of Alberta, 2016. Au mur, à gauche : Ronald B. Moppett, Red Chair/Studio, 1984, médiums mixtes sur papier. Collection de la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Achat – Subvention spéciale d’aide aux acquisitions, Conseil des arts du Canada, 1990 (990.09). Avec l’aimable concours de la Art Gallery of Alberta. Photo : M.N. Hutchinson, Calgary

Œuvres en circulation

Prêts Internes

Il y a près de 80 œuvres de la collection en prêt sur les deux campus de l’Université Concordia. Ces œuvres sont situées dans des aires de réception publique, mais surtout dans des bureaux administratifs occupés par des membres du personnel cadre de l’Université. Les prêts sont accordés en fonction de la Politique de prêt de la Galerie.

Prêts externes

Chaque année, des œuvres de la collection sont également prêtées à d’autres institutions pour être présentées dans des expositions individuelles et collectives. Aucune œuvre de la collection n’est présentement en circulation à l’extérieur des campus de l’Université.

REPRODUCTIONS

La Galerie reçoit régulièrement des demandes de reproduction d’œuvres de sa collection dans des publications imprimées ou virtuelles de la part d’autres institutions de diffusion, de maisons d’édition ou d’auteurs indépendants. Elle gère et facture les envois de photographies en fonction de sa Politique de diffusion des œuvres de la collection en format numérique.

Il est possible d’obtenir gratuitement des photographies d’œuvres de la collection lorsqu’elles sont demandées à des fins d’étude, de recherche et de documentation personnelles.

VOIR ET Consulter la collection

La Galerie expose les œuvres de sa collection dans ses espaces de manière ponctuelle dans le cadre de sa programmation contemporaine.

L’exposition virtuelle Collectionner. Déclinaison des pratiques présente plus de 250 œuvres de la collection en relation avec des problématiques liées au collectionnement. Elle permet de prendre connaissance d’importants pans de l’histoire de la Galerie et de sa collection.

Vous pouvez consulter le contenu de la collection dans les bases de données en ligne du Réseau canadien d’information sur le patrimoine (RCIP), Artefacts Canada et de la Société des musées québécois (SMQ), Info-Muse.

Visiter la réserve

La Galerie offre ponctuellement des visites de la réserve sur demande.

Usages de la collection

Aujourd’hui, la collection de la Galerie est utilisée à des fins de recherche. Des commissaires d’exposition, des auteurs, des historiens, des professeurs, des chercheurs et des éditeurs s’y réfèrent pour développer ou compléter des projets de diffusion et d’étude des arts. Chaque année, la Galerie reçoit environ une dizaine de demandes de prêt et de reproduction d’œuvres de la part de différentes institutions du Canada et de l’étranger.

La collection constitue un outil éducatif. Elle est mise en valeur au sein de différents projets qui favorisent l’acquisition de connaissances liées à l’histoire de l’art et à la muséologie. Par exemple, la Galerie collabore régulièrement avec des étudiants en histoire de l’art de l’Université Concordia. En outre, elle offre ponctuellement des stages aux étudiants du programme de maîtrise en muséologie qui est géré conjointement par l’Université du Québec à Montréal et l’Université de Montréal.

Dans le même ordre d’idées, la Galerie profite de son statut universitaire pour offrir sa collection à titre de plate-forme d’expérimentation. Elle accepte et sollicite des projets de la part d’étudiants et de professionnels de manière à ce qu’ils investissent sa collection et développent une pensée critique à l’égard d’enjeux artistiques ou muséologiques, ou d’enjeux liés à d’autres champs de savoir. Ces projets peuvent prendre diverses formes, mais les plus courantes d’entre elles sont certainement l’exposition et la publication.

InterprétER la collection d’un point de vue critique         

La création du poste de Conservateur Max Stern (2004) et le maintien d’un moratoire sur les acquisitions d’œuvres (2003-2011) ont permis d’accorder plus d’attention à la diffusion de la collection et d’adopter une approche plus critique. Le programme d’exposition Collection a émergé dans ce contexte pour explorer en profondeur divers aspects de la collection. Collection 1, Yves Gaucher – Les Danses Carrées, et Collection 2, Sur le vif: Tom Gibson et Sam Tata, ont été commissariées par Nathalie Garneau et présentées à la Galerie du 25 mai au 9 juillet 2005 et du 22 mars au 15 avril 2006.

En 2008, le commissaire invité Andrew Hunter a créé un récit autobiographique en sélectionnant et exposant des œuvres modernistes de la collection de la Galerie qui faisaient écho à ses rêves d’enfance. This is Montréal! présente le souvenir esthétique que l’artiste, auteur et commissaire a associé à la ville de Montréal après l’avoir visitée au tout début des années 1970. Elle invite à aborder des questions liées aux failles de la mémoire et aux constructions imaginaires, ainsi qu’à la diversité des récits potentiels pouvant être énoncés par l’intermédiaire d’une collection. Ce faisant, elle a présenté le médium de l’exposition et la collection comme des marqueurs temporels.

Lire la suite

En 2009, les commissaires invités Rebecca Duclos et David K. Ross exposaient de nombreuses œuvres de la collection dans le contexte de l’exposition As Much As Possible Given the Time and Space Alloted afin de mettre en scène leur réflexion sur le commissariat d’exposition et la diffusion des œuvres. Ils camouflaient leur subjectivité derrière un système de sélection et d’accrochage d’œuvres afin de soulever de questions sur la propriété intellectuelle liée aux projets commissariaux et le manque de circulation de certaines œuvres faisant partie de collections muséales. En outre, cette exposition processuelle présentait les activités qui encadrent la présentation d’une exposition, soit la réalisation des constats d’état, le déplacement, la mise en espace et le rangement des œuvres, afin de révéler des tâches qui sont généralement réalisées à l’écart des publics. Ils parvenaient ainsi à présenter l’arrière-scène de l’institution muséale et des collections muséales en créant un mélange d’œuvres qui n’était pas régi des des ligness directrices idéologiques, chronologiques ou esthétiques.

En 2010, Mélanie Rainville organisait, à titre de Conservatrice Max Stern, l’exposition Collectionner. Déclinaison des pratiques qui contenait une variété et une nombre étonnant d’objets de la collection. Elle utilisait alors la collection comme un outil (une pièce à conviction) pour affirmer que la collection dévoile sa propre histoire, et le démontrait en pointant différents aspects des œuvres exposées qu’elle expliquait au public par l’intermédiaire de cartels allongés. Le contenu de ce projet, qui traitait de pratiques de collectionnement de la Galerie par l’intermédiaire de la nature, du nombre et de l’état des œuvres qu’elle conserve, a fait l’objet d’un site Web. Ce site, à la croisée de l’exposition virtuelle et de l’archive d’exposition, est diffusé en ligne depuis 2011.

En 2012, la Conservatrice profitait du cinquantième anniversaire de la collection pour organiser deux projets commissariaux. Dans le contexte dialectique d’INTERACTIONS, elle créait un espace pour réfléchir à la réception de l’art par le public et, plus précisément, à l’écart qui divise les institutions muséales qui exposent de l’art contemporain et les publics. Elle juxtaposait une sélection d’œuvres contemporaines de la collection et des documents vidéo et textuels qui transmettaient au public l’interprétation qu’en faisaient différents intervenants invités à participer au projet.

En 2014, la collection a été mise en valeur dans le contexte de Speculations. Risquer l’interprétation, une exposition évolutive et expérimentale portant sur l’interprétation et l’instrumentalisation des œuvres, la mémoire dans un contexte de surenchère culturelle. La Conservatrice rassemblait alors plusieurs nouvelles acquisitions de la Galerie afin de mettre en public certaines tâches du commissaire d’exposition soit, par exemple, l’élaboration de mises en espace par l’intermédiaire de plans graphiques en deux dimensions. Elle révélait la complexité des œuvres choisies, la malléabilité des interprétations dont elles font l’objet, ainsi que quelques conséquences de la fixation d’une interprétation par le médium de l’exposition. Elle rappellait également qu’il n’existe pas qu’une seule interprétation juste des œuvres et que, conséquemment, le commissariat d’exposition est de nature spéculative.

Le programme d’expositions satellites SIGHTINGS était inauguré la même année afin d’évaluer les limites de l’espace d’exposition moderniste, souvent qualifié de « cube blanc » dans le jargon artistique. Pour ce faire, la Galerie invitait des étudiants du deuxième cycle en Studio Arts et en histoire de l’art de l’Université Concordia à organiser des expositions avec des œuvres de la collection qui pervertiraient le dispositif d’exposition de SIGHTINGS – un véritable cube blanc. Cinq projets ont été présentés dans le ce dispositif alors qu’il était installé au niveau métro de l’édifice EV, en 2013. Un deuxième cycle du programme a été entamé en 2013 et, peu de temps après, le dispositif était déménagé au rez-de-chaussée de l’édifice Hall. Le programme permet dorénavant d’inviter des professionnels à réaliser des expositions avec des œuvres de toutes provenances dans cet espace atypique.

Fermer