Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
IGNITION 12
Yoshimi Lee, Irokawa, La montagne, 2015. Inkjet print. Courtesy of the artist

This 12th edition of the yearly exhibition IGNITION gathers works by nine artists selected by Katrie Chagnon and Michèle Thériault, respectively the curator of research and director of the Gallery. In opening up a dialogue between formally and conceptually diverse practices, the exhibition proposes an exploration of the various systems that structure perception, cognition and memory, or that determine the very production of the image, its intrinsic functioning and its relation to a context.

Andréanne Abbondanza-Bergeron, who has a background in architecture, manipulates the coordinates of the built environment so as to reveal the perceptual mechanisms that are at play in the organization of our physical and social surroundings. Her installation Suspensus is an imposing floating structure made of suspended ceiling tiles whose spatial unfolding triggers an intricate phenomenological experience. Through an exploration of the materiality inherent in image making, Jérôme Nadeau’s work fosters a self-critical approach to photography based on the mechanical, chemical and digital processes that make it operative as an autonomous reality. In his series ODD OWNNESS, Nadeau pushes the principle of photographic reproduction to the limits of abstraction by inviting viewers to enter the material fabric of the images. With Javier Moreno Tamariz, it is the pictorial system that is the focus of continuous experimentations based on the idea of a thought in action. This artist considers the practice of painting as a heuristic inquiry leading to a progressive deconstruction of narrative space, the decomposition of figures and, ultimately, the development of a new gestural, formal and chromatic language.

Other artists brought together in this exhibition focus their research on the mnemonic field where memories are constantly collected, combined and actualized as time passes by. In this perspective, the video installation Fields of Memory produced by Ivetta Sunyoung Kang, Kevin Junghoo Park and Matthew Wolkow activates two temporal registers: that of personal memory, which is shaped in duration, and that of the lived present, which interrupts the durational continuity at every moment by causing new events to arise in consciousness. Borrowing methods from experimental film and new media, these artists build an intercultural narrative, the readability of which is blurred by distorted images, linguistic polyphony and the pounding noise of a construction site. On a more intimate note, Yoshimi Lee’s narrative work places family history at the centre of a quest for identity driven by a lived experience of being uprooted. Photographs, texts and videos comprise a poetic world in which real or imagined links are forged between individuals, customs and places conveying a specific cultural heritage.

Read more

Through the visual transposition of mathematical concepts into large-scale geometrical drawings, Vincent Routhier takes up the notion of the system in its truly philosophical sense. Created from a stencil thanks to a folding process that systematizes the space of representation, the drawings titled Homothétie du carré and Duplication du carré are “self-reflexive” works before which contemplation becomes a cognitive decoding operation. The circularity of the system is a question that Tom Watson is also closely interested in. Each element of his installation Crush and Burn, which combines plastic brick sculptures and 3D models, is derived from the process that guides the transformation of the manufactured object; here displayed in various states in a hybrid space that seeks to fuse the physical and virtual environments.

Close

The Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery is supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.

Produced with the support of the Frederick and Mary Kay Lowy Art Education Fund.

IGNITION is an annual exhibition that features new work by students currently enrolled in the Studio Arts or Humanities graduate programs at Concordia University. It provides an upandcoming generation of artists with a unique opportunity to present ambitious, interdisciplinary works in the professional context of a gallery with a national and international profile. Graduate students work directly with Gallery staff to produce an exhibition that places an emphasis on critical, innovative, and experimental work, engaging in the exploration and consideration of diverse media and practices. IGNITION is of interest to all students and faculty, the art community, and the general public.

Andréanne Abbondanza-Bergeron

I approach sculpture and installation as an inquiry into social and spatial relations. I want to question, unsettle, and bring attention to our sense of embodiment – I am seeking to reawaken in the viewers a more conscious awareness of their surrounding and their corporeal occupation of their immediate environment. I am drawing their attention to the space by making reference to the structures we inhabit. The works become visual metaphors for the various structures we live with and for those that extend beyond the physical construction of our world; whether they are architectural, urban, digital, institutional, linguistic, hierarchical, interpersonal, or psychological.

THE WORK

2015AAB_Suspensus_05Suspensus, 2015
Suspended ceiling system of acoustic tiles, wire

Courtesy of the artist

From the Latin origin of the word, the installation Suspensus conveys not only the meaning of being suspended, but also encompasses notions of suspense, uncertainty, and doubt. The installation, constructed of ceiling tiles commonly employed in commercial and institutional buildings, is hung in the room, imposing on and disrupting the space it occupies. The installation’s form creates the illusion of a distortion, as if bending the space itself. As it is entirely suspended and seemingly floating in space, it loses all sense of weight. It is perfectly balanced, frozen in a moment of grace before the inevitable collapse.

EXPLORE

  • How this installation transforms the exhibition space;
  • The changing bodily sensations that characterize the mobile experience of this monumental work.

ADDITIONAL SOURCES OF INFORMATION

abbondanzabergeron.com

Close
Ivetta Sunyoung Kang / Kevin Junghoo Park / Matthew Wolkow

The three of us are interested in investigating the dynamics of memory through cross-disciplinary relationships between text and image, body and image, and image(s) within an image. These themes are explored in various forms of cinema – narrative, documentary, and experimental. With Fields of Memory, we are now exploring the potential of what we have discovered in alternative forms of new media.

THE WORK

Ignition_FILEDSOFMEMORY_2Fields of Memory, 2015
Two-channel video installation, sound

Courtesy of the artist

Fields of Memory is an attempt to visualize how personal memories “are” in the passage of time. The visual realm of personal memories – constituted of images from each artist’s personal archives, presented with narrations in their respective mother tongues (English, French, and Korean) – is disrupted by the repeated, powerful action of the metallic pounding used in construction. Yet, the archived memories ultimately becomes alive within the audiences’ nowness, experiencing the physical impacts of the piece – glitched images and audiovisual pounding.

EXPLORE

  • The multiple temporalities that this work conveys;
  • The relationships between text and image in the various film genres that the artists explore.

ADDITIONAL SOURCES OF INFORMATION

cargocollective.com/ivettakang

Close
Yoshimi Lee

Lived experience is the raw material of my practice. The creative process shapes and reworks it. I use photography, video and writing to explore themes linked to my identity as an uprooted woman. In telling the story of my own family history, I seek to understand how being uprooted is lived and defined. My research is guided by core questions such as migration, the possession or non-possession of a social, cultural and linguistic identity, homeland, the burden of the past and memory—whether real, invented, recreated or collective.

THE WORKS

Maeumui gohyang, 2015-2016
Video projection, sound


Presented as a diptych

Irokawa, La montagne, 2015
Inkjet print

Hanbok [01], 2016
C-print


Yukata
[02], 2016
C-print

Courtesy of the artist

This project about being uprooted is conceived as a book comprising several chapters of one family’s story. Each section uses a distinct creative strategy (photography, writing, video and sound) to talk about a subject, a history or a moment linked to being uprooted, such as the search for an identity, quest for one’s homeland, passing down of cultural heritage, and memories of exile. Going beyond a personal exploration of family memory, this work seeks to understand the singular and intangible feeling associated with being uprooted.

EXPLORE

  • The intervention of fiction in the artist’s reconstruction of her family’s history;
  • The intertwined references to Korean, Japanese and Quebec cultures in this body of work.
Close
Javier Moreno Tamariz

My practice is based on the belief that it is only in action that thought can intercede with matter. Through the process of painting, changing, erasing, wiping over, sanding the canvas, I aim to push further my initial ideas and to discover more interesting forms and colors that are the remaining traces of all of these changes.

THE WORKS

Untitled, 2015
Oil on canvas

Untitled, 2016
Oil on canvas

Untitled, 2015
Oil on canvas

Untitled, 2016
Oil on canvas

Untitled, 2016
Oil on canvas

Untitled, 2015
Oil and soft pastel on wood panel

Untitled, 2015
Oil on canvas

Courtesy of the artist

These paintings represent human, animal or other figures that have been distorted or rendered unrecognizable through gestural brush-work and incompletion. Through an experimental approach, the figures metamorphose and take on unexpected forms and colors. Disrupting the narrative structure and content of the image, this series of paintings develops its own visual language in order to create a dialogue between gesture, color and space.

EXPLORE

  • The concept of defiguration in painting;
  • How this artist works with color.

ADDITIONAL SOURCES OF INFORMATION

javiermorenotamarizblog.wordpress.com

Close
Jérôme Nadeau

My work navigates the boundaries and expectations that we have towards images. Interested in disrupting their conventions and moving beyond their usually accepted meanings, my work is a reflection on the status of the image in relation to its materiality and on the inherent qualities situated at the intersection of the mediums. Filtered through many transformative methods, I investigate typically unseen production processes while exploring the sensibilities beyond the materials’ predetermined use.

THE WORKS

ODD OWNNESS, 2016
Archival inkjet prints

INSPIRIT SCRIPTS, 2015
Epson K3 ink on unprocessed Kodak Supra Endura paper

MILES AND MILES, 2016
Archival inkjet print

Courtesy of the artist

Proposing new possibilities for photography, not only to challenge its presumptuous link with reality but also to explore its own visual language, the series ODD OWNNESS focuses on a form of image making which investigates the intrinsic individuality of photography. In its repeated reproduction, the works erodes into abstraction and unfolds the many states and stages of what can constitute an image, thus creating an infinite echo of modifications, reconfigurations and recontextualizations.

EXPLORE

  • How these works reveal the materiality of the photographic image;
  • The self-critical approach of photography on which the work of this artist is based.

ADDITIONAL SOURCES OF INFORMATION

jeromenadeau.com

Close
Vincent Routhier

Rooted in philosophical discourse and a scientific approach, my conceptual and multidisciplinary practice questions the possible complementarity between art and science. In considering translation as a pure creation, I develop systems that are translated into large geometric drawings, mathematical formulas and contextual performances.

THE WORKS

Duplication du carré, 2016
Paper, graphite powder

Homothétie du carré, 2016
Paper, graphite powder

Homothétie du carré’, 2016
Paper, graphite powder

Métadonnées homothétie, feuille de calcul, 2016
Excel file

Courtesy of the artist

These large-scale drawings propose a formal translation of the mathematical concept of homothety. It is by folding the paper several times and by using a shape cut directly from the sheet that the drawing is developed. There is a fold for each graphite-powder printed shape. The drawing is its own tool and its own plane. The number of duplicated forms determines the size of the drawing. Faced with a self-reflexive and conceptually “perfect” work, the viewer can mentally retrace the creation process revealed by the folding traces, the manipulation marks left by the graphite, as well as the negative space.

EXPLORE

  • The reflexive and cognitive dimensions of images;
  • The relationship between a concept and the forms into which it can be translated.
Close
Tom Watson

In my practice, I highlight the process as an activating principle in the artwork, and to conceptually refigure a relationship to forces of reification. I try to find a point of departure by unpicking the materiality of existing objects, and following an interest. As a working method, I am simultaneously testing the material and imaginative tolerances of our evolving relationship to objects.

THE WORK

Tom_Watson_Crush_and_Burn_2Crush and Burn, 2016
Two-thousand red plastic toy bricks, two MacBook Pro running Blender software, two LCD flat screens

Courtesy of the artist

The fifteen forms rendered in 2000 red plastic bricks in the gallery space as well as in 3D model making software, represent the machine parts necessary to process the plastic into a raw material useful for a 3D printer. Conflating the software environment and the physical space the bricks inhabit, this work is an attempt to jam together two spaces that are normally distinct in practices of screen-based making.

EXPLORE

  • The notion of system in this work;
  • How the artist questions our relationship to objects.

ADDITIONAL SOURCES OF INFORMATION

commonolithic.com

Close

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
IGNITION 12
Yoshimi Lee, Irokawa, La montagne, 2015. Épreuve à jet d’encre. Avec l'aimable concours de l'artiste

Cette douzième édition de l’exposition annuelle IGNITION regroupe les œuvres de neuf artistes sélectionnés par Katrie Chagnon et Michèle Thériault, respectivement conservatrice et directrice de la Galerie. Mettant en dialogue des pratiques très variées sur les plans formel et conceptuel, l’exposition propose une exploration de différents systèmes qui structurent la perception, la cognition et la mémoire, ou qui conditionnent la production même de l’image, son fonctionnement intrinsèque et sa relation au contexte.

Issue du domaine de l’architecture, Andréanne Abbondanza-Bergeron manipule les coordonnées de l’espace bâti de manière à révéler les mécanismes perceptifs intervenant dans l’organisation de notre environnement physique et social. Son installation Suspensus est une imposante structure flottante composée de tuiles de plafond suspendu dont le déploiement spatial génère une expérience phénoménologique complexe. Investiguant la matérialité inhérente au processus de fabrication des images, le travail de Jérôme Nadeau préconise une approche autocritique de la photographie axée sur les procédés mécaniques, chimiques et digitaux qui la rendent opératoire en tant que réalité autonome. Dans sa série ODD OWNNESS, Nadeau a poussé le principe de reproduction photographique jusqu’aux limites de l’abstraction, nous faisant ainsi pénétrer dans la trame matérielle des images. Chez Javier Moreno Tamariz, c’est le système pictural qui fait l’objet d’expérimentations continues fondées sur l’idée d’une pensée en acte. Cet artiste envisage en effet la pratique de la peinture comme une démarche heuristique menant à la déconstruction progressive de l’espace narratif, à la décomposition des figures et, ultimement, au développement d’un nouveau langage gestuel, formel et chromatique.

D’autres artistes regroupés dans cette exposition concentrent plutôt leurs recherches sur le champ mnésique où les souvenirs se déposent, s’agencent et s’actualisent constamment en fonction du passage du temps. Dans cette perspective, l’installation vidéo Fields of Memory produite par Ivetta Sunyoung Kang, Kevin Junghoo Park et Matthew Wolkow met en tension deux registres temporels : celui de la mémoire personnelle, qui prend forme dans la durée, et celui du présent vivant, qui interrompt à chaque instant cette continuité en faisant surgir à la conscience de nouveaux événements. Empruntant les méthodes du cinéma expérimental et des nouveaux médias, ces artistes construisent un récit interculturel dont la lisibilité est brouillée par la distorsion des images, la polyphonie linguistique et le son martelé d’un site de construction. Plus intimiste, le travail narratif de Yoshimi Lee inscrit l’histoire familiale au centre d’une quête identitaire nourrie par l’expérience du déracinement. Photographies, textes et vidéo composent un univers poétique tissant des liens réels ou fantasmés entre des individus, des coutumes et des lieux porteurs d’un certain héritage culturel.

Lire la suite

Vincent Routhier aborde la notion de système dans sa définition plus philosophique, par la transposition visuelle de concepts mathématiques sous la forme de grands dessins géométriques. Réalisés au pochoir grâce à un procédé de pliage qui systématise l’espace de la représentation, les dessins intitulés Homothétie du carré et Duplication du carré sont des œuvres « autoréflexives » face auxquelles la contemplation se prolonge en opérations mentales de décodage. La circularité du système est une question à laquelle Tom Watson s’intéresse également de près. Chaque élément de son installation Crush and Burn, qui combine des sculptures en briques de plastiques et des modélisations 3D, découle d’une logique de transformation de l’objet manufacturé, présenté sous différents états et dans un espace hybride cherchant à fusionner les environnements physique et virtuel.

Fermer

Le programme contemporain de la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen bénéficie du soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada.

Produit avec l’appui du Frederick and Mary Kay Lowy Art Education Fund.

IGNITION est une exposition annuelle mettant en valeur le travail d’étudiants terminant leur maîtrise en Studio Arts et au doctorat en Humanities à l’Université Concordia. Cette manifestation est une occasion pour une génération d’artistes en devenir de présenter des oeuvres ambitieuses et interdisciplinaires dans le contexte professionnel d’une galerie au profil national et international. Ces étudiants travaillent en collaboration avec l’équipe de la Galerie afin de produire une exposition qui rassemble des oeuvres qui ont une dimension critique, innovatrice et expérimentale menant à une réflexion sur les médias et les pratiques artistiques. IGNITION est d’intérêt pour tous les étudiants et leurs enseignants, la communauté artistique et le grand public.

Andréanne Abbondanza-Bergeron

Mon travail en sculpture et en installation se conçoit comme une étude des relations spatiales et sociales. Mes œuvres questionnent, déstabilisent et, surtout, accentuent le sens que nous avons de notre présence dans un lieu physique. Je cherche à raviver chez les spectateurs une conscience de leur environnement immédiat et de leur occupation corporelle de cet espace. J’attire leur attention sur l’espace en faisant référence aux structures que nous habitons. Les œuvres deviennent alors des métaphores visuelles des différentes structures avec lesquelles nous vivons et de celles qui se prolongent au-delà de la construction de notre monde physique, qu’elles soient architecturales, urbaines, numériques, institutionnelles, linguistiques, hiérarchiques, interpersonnelles ou psychologiques.

L’OEUVRE

2015AAB_Suspensus_01Suspensus, 2015
Plafond suspendu de tuiles acoustiques, cable métallique

Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste

D’origine latine, le mot « suspensus » évoque non seulement le fait d’être suspendu dans l’espace, mais exprime également les concepts de suspense, d’incertitude et de doute. Réalisée au moyen de tuiles de plafond fréquemment utilisées dans des immeubles commerciaux ou institutionnels, l’installation envahit et déforme par le fait même l’espace qu’elle occupe. La forme de l’œuvre crée l’illusion que l’espace lui-même est courbé, la structure semblant flotter dans le vide, en état de suspension et dénuée de toute pesanteur. Elle paraît parfaitement en équilibre, figée dans un moment de grâce avant l’inévitable écroulement.

EXPLOREZ

  • La manière dont l’installation transforme l’espace d’exposition;
  • Les sensations corporelles changeantes qui caractérisent l’expérience mobile de cette oeuvre monumentale.

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS

abbondanzabergeron.com

Fermer
Ivetta Sunyoung Kang / Kevin Junghoo Park / Matthew Wolkow

Nous menons tous les trois une recherche sur la dynamique de la mémoire à travers les relations interdisciplinaires qui s’établissent entre le texte et l’image, le corps et l’image et, intrinsèquement, entre l’image et celle(s) qu’elle contient. Ces thèmes sont traités dans diverses formes de cinéma – narratif, documentaire et expérimental. Dans Fields of Memory, nous explorons les possibilités que nous avons découvertes dans les formes alternatives des nouveaux médias.

L’OEUVRE

Ignition_FILEDSOFMEMORY_2Fields of Memory, 2015
Installation vidéo à deux canaux, son

Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste

Fields of Memory est une tentative pour visualiser comment les souvenirs personnels « existent » dans la durée. Le registre visuel des souvenirs personnels – constitués d’images tirées des archives personnelles de chacun des artistes, accompagnées de narrations dans leur langue maternelle respective (anglais, français et coréen) – est perturbée par l’action puissante et répétée du martèlement métallique des travaux de construction. Toutefois, les souvenirs archivés ne prennent finalement vie qu’au présent, dans l’expérience immédiate que fait le public des effets physiques de l’œuvre, des images déformées et du martellement audiovisuel.

EXPLOREZ

  • Les multiples temporalités convoquées par cette œuvre;
  • Les rapports entre le texte et l’image dans les différents genres cinématographiques explorés par les artistes.

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS

cargocollective.com/ivettakang

Fermer
Yoshimi Lee

Le vécu est la matière brute de ma pratique. Le processus de création le façonne, le retravaille. J’utilise la photographie, la vidéo et l’écriture pour explorer des thèmes liés à mon identité en tant que femme déracinée. À travers le récit de ma propre histoire familiale, je cherche à comprendre comment se vit et se définit le déracinement. Des questions aussi diverses que la migration, la possession ou la non-possession d’une identité sociale, culturelle et linguistique, la patrie, le poids du passé et la mémoire – qu’elle soit réelle, inventée, recrée ou collective – sont au cœur de ma recherche.

LES OEUVRES

Maeumui gohyang, 2015-2016
Projection vidéo, son


Présentées en diptyque

Irokawa, La montagne, 2015
Épreuve à jet d’encre

Hanbok [01], 2016
Épreuve à développement chromogène


Yukata [02]
, 2016
Épreuve à développement chromogène

Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste

Ce projet sur le déracinement se conçoit comme un recueil comportant plusieurs chapitres d’un même récit familial. Chaque volet utilise une stratégie créative distincte (photographie, écriture, vidéo et son) pour parler d’un sujet, d’une histoire ou d’un moment lié au déracinement, comme la recherche d’identité, la quête de sa patrie, la transmission de l’héritage culturel, le souvenir de l’exil. Au-delà d’une exploration personnelle de la mémoire familiale, ce travail vise à comprendre ce sentiment unique et intangible qu’est le déracinement.

EXPLOREZ

  • La dimension fictive qui intervient dans la reconstruction par l’artiste de son histoire familiale;
  • L’entrecroisement de réferences aux cultures coréenne, japonaise et québécoise dans ce corpus d’oeuvre.
Fermer
Javier Moreno Tamariz

Ma pratique se fonde sur la conviction que la pensée ne peut interagir avec la matière que dans l’action. À travers un processus qui consiste à peindre, à modifier, à effacer, à essuyer et à sabler la toile, je tente de pousser plus loin mes idées de départ et de découvrir des formes et des couleurs plus intéressantes, qui sont les traces résiduelles de tous ces changements.

LES OEUVRES

Sans titre, 2015
Huile sur toile

Sans titre, 2016
Huile sur toile

Sans titre, 2015
Huile sur toile

Sans titre, 2016
Huile sur toile

Sans titre, 2016
Huile sur toile

Sans titre, 2015
Huile et pastel sur panneau de bois

Sans titre, 2015
Huile sur toile

Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste

Ces peintures représentent des figures humaines, animales et d’autres types de figures qui ont été déformées ou rendues méconnaissables par le travail gestuel du pinceau et l’inachèvement. Cette approche expérimentale métamorphose les figures et produit des formes et des couleurs inattendues. Perturbant la structure et le contenu narratifs de l’image, cette série de tableaux développe son propre langage visuel afin de mettre en dialogue le geste, la couleur et l’espace.

EXPLOREZ

  • Le concept de défiguration en peinture;
  • La manière dont cet artiste travaille la couleur.

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS

javiermorenotamarizblog.wordpress.com

Fermer
Jérôme Nadeau

Ma pratique artistique explore les limites engendrées par l’interprétation et les attentes que nous avons à l’égard des images. Intéressé à perturber leurs conventions et à redéfinir la signification habituellement acceptée de celles-ci, mon travail propose une réflexion sur le statut de l’image par rapport à sa matérialité et aux qualités inhérentes situées à l’intersection des médiums. Mon utilisation de la photographie examine les nombreux processus de production laissés généralement invisible, faisant ainsi place à une exploration de la sensibilité du médium photographique au-delà de son usage prédéterminé.

LES OEUVRES

ODD OWNNESS, 2016
Épreuves à jet d’encre sur papier archive

INSPIRIT SCRIPTS, 2015
Encres Epson K3 sur papier Kodak Supra Endura non-procédé

MILES AND MILES, 2016
Épreuves à jet d’encre sur papier archive

Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste

Proposant de nouvelles possibilités pour la photographie – non seulement dans le but de contester sa relation présomptueuse à la réalité, mais aussi afin d’explorer son langage visuel spécifique –, la série ODD OWNNESS met l’accent sur un mode de fabrication d’images qui examine l’unicité de la photographie et ses propriétés intrinsèques. Par la reproduction répétée de celle-ci, les œuvres se fondent progressivement dans l’abstraction, créant ainsi une suite cryptique d’enquêtes, de modifications, de reconfigurations et de recontextualisations qui explore les diverses étapes de production des images.

EXPLOREZ

  • La matérialité de l’image photographique telle que révélée par ces œuvres;
  • L’approche autocritique de la photographie sur laquelle se fonde le travail de cet artiste.

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS

jeromenadeau.com

Fermer
Vincent Routhier

Découlant du discours philosophique et de l’approche scientifique, ma pratique conceptuelle et multidisciplinaire interroge la complémentarité possible entre l’art et la science. En envisageant la traduction comme création pure, j’élabore des systèmes qui se traduisent en de grands dessins géométriques, en formules mathématiques et en performances contextuelles.

LES OEUVRES

Duplication du carré, 2016
Papier, graphite en poudre

Homothétie du carré, 2016
Papier, graphite en poudre

Homothétie du carré’, 2016
Papier, graphite en poudre

Métadonnées homothétie, feuille de calcul, 2016
Fichier Excel

Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste

Ces dessins de grand format proposent une traduction formelle du concept mathématique de l’homothétie. C’est en pliant plusieurs dizaines de fois le papier, et en utilisant comme pochoir une forme découpée à même la feuille, que le dessin s’élabore. Pour chaque forme imprimée à la poudre de graphite, il y a un pli. Le dessin est son propre outil et son propre plan. Le nombre de formes dupliquées définit la grandeur du dessin. Se retrouvant face à une œuvre autoréflexive et conceptuellement « parfaite », le visiteur peut retracer mentalement le processus de création, révélé par les traces de pliage, les marques de manipulations laissées par le graphite, ainsi que par l’espace négatif.

EXPLOREZ

  • La dimension reflexive et cognitive des images;
  • La relation entre le concept et les formes dans lesquelles celui-ci peut se traduire.
Fermer
Tom Watson

Ma pratique met l’accent sur le processus en tant que principe d’activation du travail artistique et comme moyen de reconfigurer conceptuellement la relation qui nous lie aux forces de réification. J’essaie de trouver un point de départ en décomposant la matérialité d’objets existants et en me laissant guider par l’intérêt qui s’en dégage. Ma méthode de travail implique de mettre simultanément à l’épreuve, sur les plans matériel et imaginaire, la tolérance qui détermine notre relation changeante aux objets.

L’OEUVRE

Tom_Watson_Crush_and_Burn_1Crush and Burn, 2016
Deux mille briques de plastique, le logiciel Blender sur deux ordinateurs MacBook Pros, deux écrans plats ACL

Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste

Les quinze formes produites avec deux mille briques de plastique rouge disposées dans l’espace d’exposition, ainsi qu’au moyen d’un logiciel de modélisation 3D représentent les pièces de la machine servant à transformer le plastique en matière première utilisable par une imprimante 3D. Amalgamant l’environnement logiciel et l’espace physique occupé par les briques, cette œuvre tente de compresser deux espaces habituellement distincts dans les pratiques de production sur écran.

EXPLOREZ

  • La notion de système dans cette œuvre;
  • La manière dont l’artiste questionne notre relation aux objets.

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS

commonolithic.com

Fermer