Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
SEAN SNYDER
Sean Snyder. Video excerpts at variable frame rates from Kino Pravada, Dziga Vertov (1922–25) and L'argent, Robert Bresson (1983), 2007. DVD on monitor, 3 min. 48 sec. Courtesy of the artist and Lisson Gallery, London

Sean Snyder takes the global circulation of data as the raw materials for his practice. He experiments multilayered signs revealing unexpected layers in an intentionally not pedagogical way. Refusing to conform to conventions, his practice avoids simple classification. In resistance to contemporary art’s tendency to aspire to a mechanized consumer society, his investigations parody and mirror their processes.

Bypassing conventions, the artist’s practice encodes information using an unpredictable matrix. Anatomically ordering preconceptions, his installations deconstruct assumptions that might be attributed to a topic. Interrogating representation, the nebulous investigations, occasionally come into clear focus oscillating between fact and fiction. What might seemingly be intelligible, might turn out to be far more complex. Conversely, what may apparently be complex, might unravel in multifarious, yet simple and uncomplicated ways.

Researching algorithms and unknowns, his practice dissects the aleatoric use of databanks and publicly attainable information, producing unexpectedly (and subjectively) interconnections between memory and materiality. Via a deconstruction and reconfiguration of components, he elucidates hypotheticals from incongruent perspectives.

(Artist’s Statement)

Sean Snyder lives in Berlin. His current inquiries can be pursued here:
mnemosynedrone.info

EXPLORE

  • How do we access an image, and how does it access us?
  • How are belief and knowledge formed by the structuring information?
  • How are Sean Snyder’s image archives being formed?
  • What will the archives of the future become?

ADDITIONAL SOURCES OF INFORMATION

Bouwhuis, Jelle, et al., eds. Now is the Time: Art & Theory in the 21st Century. Rotterdam: NAi Publishers, 2009.

Birnbaum, Daniel, Jerry Sheerin, and Jan Verwoert. Sean Snyder. Frankfurt am Main: Portikus; Köln: Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, 2007.

Clarke, Chris. Search and Seizure: The Ambiguity of Mediation in Sean Snyder’s Untitled (Archive Iraq) Series. Photography & Culture 3.1 (2010): 65-72.

Decter, Joshua. Sean Snyder. Artforum 49.7 (2011): 268-269.

Read more

Demos, T. J. Zones of Conflict. New York: Pratt Institute, 2008.

Ebner, Martin, and Florian Zeifang, eds. Poor Man’s Expression: Technology, Experimental Film, Conceptual Art. New York: Sternberg Press, 2011.

Esche, Charles. The Slobozian Question. Afterall 6 (2002): 82-87.

Fleck, Robert, Maria Lind, and Barbara Vanderlinden. Manifesta 2 : European Biennial for Contemporary Art / Luxembourg. Luxembourg: Agence luxembourgeoise d’action culturelle / Casino Luxembourg-Forum d’art contemporain, 1998.

Lütticken, Sven. Sean Snyder. Artforum 43.5 (2005): 194.

Moschovi, Alexandra, Carol McKay and Arabella Plouviez, eds. The Versatile Image: Photography, Digital Technologies and the Internet. Leuven: Leuven University Press, 2013.

Potrč, Marjetica, and Sean Snyder. Ducks, Gambling and Cultural Bankruptcy or, The Bastardised Urban Landscape. Afterall 6 (2002): 88-91.

Prince, Mark. Southfork Ranch Romania. Art Monthly 264 (2003): 7-10.

Reese, Simon. Sean Snyder: Double Dubya. ArtUS 14 (2006): 56-59.

Snyder, Sean. Disobedience in Byelorussia: Self-Interrogation on “Research Based Art.” e-flux journal 5 (2009): 1-10.

Snyder, Sean. Disobedience in Tokyo. e-flux journal 9 (2009): 1-11.

Snyder, Sean. Marriott Hotel Islamabad. In Bouwhuis, Jelle, et al., eds. Now is the Time: Art & Theory in the 21st Century. Rotterdam: NAi Publishers, 2009.

Snyder, Sean. Optics. Compression. Propaganda. Art & Research 2.1 (2008) Web. http://www.artandresearch.org.uk/v2n1/snyder.html Retrieved on April 8 2015.

van Weelden, Dirk. On Mobility. Amsterdam: De Appel, 2006.

Verwoert, Jan. Sean Snyder: Jump Cut Cities. Afterall 6 (2002): 70-81.

Verwoert, Jan. World in Motion. Frieze 84 (2004): 90-95.

Woznicki, Krystian. Embedded Pyongyang: American artist Sean Snyder’s reconaissance of North Korea. Springerin 10.1 (2004): 42-45.

mnemosynedrone.info

svenlutticken.blogspot.ca/2013/11/sean-snyder-no-apocalypse-not-now.html

espionart.wordpress.com/2014/07/21/featured-artist-sean-snyder

starship-magazine.org/index.php?page=item&issue=11&pages=17ff&view=11

Close

Produced with the support of the Frederick and Mary Kay Lowy Art Education Fund.

In partnership with Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal – 14th edition
The Post-Photographic Condition

Guest Curator: Joan Fontcuberta

Artist

Sean Snyder

Sean Snyder was born in 1972 in Virginia Beach, and lives and works in Berlin. Since 1998, his works have been presented in solo and group exhibitions, including at The Barbican Center (2014), the Kölnischer Kunstverein, Cologne (2013), the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. (2012), the Israeli Center for Digital Art, Holon (2010), Artist Space, New York (2010), the ICA, London (2009) and the Swedish Contemporary Art Foundation, Stockholm (2009). He has received many grants and awards, including from the Office for Contemporary Art Norway, Oslo (2006) and the Institute of Contemporary Art, Sofia (2004). He is represented by Lisson Gallery in London, Galerie Chantal Crousel in Paris, and Galerie Neu in Berlin.

Close

Works

Aleatoric Collision (Sony Hacking Scandal), 2015

Aleatoric Collision (Sony Hacking Scandal), 2015
Digital prints, cell phone, dvd and case, book
Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris; Lisson Gallery, London; Galerie Neu, Berlin

There is a curious analogy between SNS systems of security and the relatively archaic, yet reliably well functioning system of Dabbawala in India (moped stacked lunch delivery system). When a delivery is made it usually arrives at its destination. The viral dissemination of corporate culture can be mirrored in reality. The recent MERS virus was apparently caused by one man who traveled from the Middle East to South Korea. The outbreak of the deadly virus generated panic throughout South Korea. There is no known explanation of why the outbreak spread so quickly, nor how long the threat will continue.
The project presented in the exhibition attempts to approach the mediation of paranoia through both virtual and physical channels. The Interview, a film produced by the Sony Pictures has become a centerpiece of transnational corporate anxiety involving state security and recycled Cold War scenarios of defense and covert penetration. The hacking scandal was made public on November 23rd 2014, leaking corporate secrets from CEO e-mail exchanges. North Korean and Chinese hackers were blamed by the FBI, generating threats from the US government against an erratic and unpredictable state. The film’s release scheduled on November 24th was postponed for one month and one day, making it major national news in the US. Some critical voices claimed that it was perhaps artificial hype to market the film, which was finally released on Christmas. When IP addresses were found by some in the hacking community, implying that the leak originated in the US, it became unclear which unpredictable rogue state was to blame.

Close
Untitled/ (digital imaging/sensor), 2009

Untitled/ (digital imaging/sensor), 2009
Digital print
Courtesy of the artist and Lisson Gallery, London

In 1960 the weather satellite TIROS-1 achieved the first complete picture of the globe. During the following years, the astronauts of the Apollo program improved that recording until they obtained the iconic The Blue Marble (NASA AS17-148-22727). For Luigi Ghirri, it represented the image that encompassed all images, a kind of visual Aleph. This image can be seen as foreshadowing the incipient globalization.
In 2009 Sean Snyder updated this type of endeavour, at a time when digital technology had contributed to the consummation of globalization. The bare surface of a digital sensor is shown, a device that allows to see, but not to be seen. Thus, when we deal with images that are participating in the moulding of our consciences, we must not forget that all of them are born in such a sensor.

Close
Index (Storage Media), 2009
Index (Synopsis), 2009

Index (Storage Media), 2009
Black and white digital prints

Index (Synopsis), 2009
Black and white digital prints

Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris; Lisson Gallery, London; Galerie Neu, Berlin

In 2009 Snyder edited and digitised the archives that he had amassed while researching previous works, as part of a project entitled Index, destroying their old media – analog videos, photo contact sheets, and so on – and getting a number of files which should be able to fit onto a single ‘memory stick’.
Several works have spun off from Index, including a large group of photographs depicting storage media and the other physical elements of Snyder’s archive. The photographs are complemented by other materials, including test prints arranged on white boards – photographic experiments that offer insights into Snyder’s working process and formal vocabulary. The viewer is presented with abstract forms that emphasise the materiality of information and images.

Close
Untitled (Novosti Press Agency), 2007

Untitled (Novosti Press Agency), 2007
Single channel video on display screen, 56 sec.
16 mm film transferred to HD video, processed through 5 digital compression formats
Courtesy of the artist and Gallery Neu, Berlin

The source material is a 16mm newsreel progressively compressed to mobile phone resolution. The only image is the photographic material, which is transformed during the compression process to the point where a sequence of enlarged grayscale pixels is obtained.
The prominence of mass media and the Internet impose a new equation to visual information today: more compression, and more distribution potential. This dilemma is underlined in the video Untitled, (Novosti Press Agency) (2007), highlighting the way the image transmission forces an aesthetic compromise between high and low quality, and between high and low resolution, pointing to the way aesthetic quality has been relegated to the background in favour of greater accessibility and intensity, in order to be re-edited, manipulated, remixed, and circulated. However, the treatment of orphan and corrupted images is inexorably tied to a transgressive or subversive intention: these images can be seen not only as a sign of resistance and appropriation, but also, conversely, as an act of conformism and exploitation.

Close
Radiographic Search (MRI), 2015
Adventure Fragment. Atari (Algorithm), 2015

Radiographic Search (MRI), 2015
Mp3 audio file, 13 min 21 sec.
Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Neu, Berlin

Adventure Fragment. Atari (Algorithm), 2015
Digital file, 1 min. 01 sec.
Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Neu, Berlin

Close
Casio, Seiko, Sheraton, Toyota, Mars, 2004 – 2005

Casio, Seiko, Sheraton, Toyota, Mars, 2004 – 2005
DVD projection, sound, 13 min. 11 sec.
Courtesy of the artist and Lisson Gallery, London

Footage from amateur-videos and material from media agencies are used to analyse conventions and complications that arise in the production of an iconic image of war. Simultaneously, there is a focus on the international acceptance of consumer goods, extending beyond all ideological boundaries. The narration begins thus: News stories, scripted for consumption, merge the spaces of recent conflict. Plots, characters, and camera direction produce images for decoding. The sets can be cities, mountainous landscapes, hide-outs and tourist resorts. The plots include documents, dossiers, manuals, reports, un-released videos, un-circulated images, found mobile phone SIM cards, confiscated hard drives, and a largely unseen spectacle of incidental props.

Close
Video excerpts at variable frame rates from Kino Pravda, Dziga Vertov (1922–25) and L'argent, Robert Bresson (1983), 2007
Video excerpts at variable frame rates from Harb ul Mustadhefeen, As Sahab Media (2005), 2007

Video excerpts at variable frame rates from Kino Pravda, Dziga Vertov (1922–25) and L’argent, Robert Bresson (1983), 2007
DVD on monitor, 3 min. 48 sec.
Courtesy of the artist and Lisson Gallery, London

Video excerpts at variable frame rates from Harb ul Mustadhefeen, As Sahab Media (2005), 2007
DVD on monitor, 3 min. 25 sec., no sound
Courtesy of the artist and Lisson Gallery, London

A series of videos made up of moving images publicly available on the internet. Avoiding direct comparison, the selection consists of iconographic subjects shared both by the US Department of Defense (DoD) website and Jihadi media material. The work uncovers the visual vocabulary and the conventions of the production and reception of current war propaganda. The resolution, size and compression of images are crucial not only with regards to the level of details and information attainable from them but also to the political message implicit in its producers’ access to high or low technology.

Close
Horizontal Propagation, 2015
Question to the CIA (Abstract Expressionism), 2015

Horizontal Propagation, 2015
Puzzle and base

Question to the CIA (Abstract Expressionism), 2015
B & W laser print

Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris; Lisson Gallery, London; Galerie Neu, Berlin

Convergence, a Jackson Pollock painting from 1952, reproduced as a puzzle was purchased via eBay. An excerpt from the consumer product description states: “Pollock’s startling painting is a challenge to the deft­of-hand puzzler and the art connoisseur alike.” The side of the box claims: “The world’s most difficult puzzle to solve.” And the other side: “340 Pieces – Each One Different.” The scattered pieces of the puzzle are displayed on a surface of horizontal structure (Horizontal Propagation, 2015). The structure is scaled to 50 percent of the size of the original painting that hangs in the Albright-Knox Art Gallery. The painting’s political dimension and its being an element of Cold War propaganda, as a representative of ideology of freedom and American exceptionalism with alleged CIA involvement in promotion of Abstract Expressionism, is now more than a rumor of art history, but is not yet documented. In order to produce a (framed) document, Snyder contacted the CIA via email and asked a question regarding the utilization of art as a weapon during the Cold War. A print of the automated response confirming the reception of the question is displayed. (Question To The CIA (Abstract Expressionism), 2015).

Close
Vertical Traces, 2015
Transcription of Inquiry to METRA (Chicago Urban Transport), 2015

Vertical Traces, 2015
HD data file, 1 min. 20 sec

Transcription of Inquiry to METRA (Chicago Urban Transport), 2015
Digital print

Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris; Lisson Gallery, London; Galerie Neu, Berlin

A vertical video projection traces the location of an intervention by Daniel Buren titled Watch The Doors, Please!, commissioned by the Art Institute of Chicago. The exhibition space itself was left empty with the schedule of the subway trains passing by available to the audience. The intervention active between 1980 and 1982 was referred to as not only in situ, but in motion. Snyder’s projection documents the location of the intervention visible from the exhibition space juxtaposing the images accessible at present via the online remote viewing technologies. The Google Earth searches represent the location as a rigid topographic scheme while the Bing search playfully animates the route of the transportation network with the rail lines rendered in gray and white, ironically reminiscent of Buren’s iconic stripes.

Close
Schema (Television), 2006-2007

Schema (Television), 2006-2007
DVD on monitor, sound, 10 min.
Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris; Lisson Gallery, London; Galerie Neu, Berlin

This work scripted in collaboration with Olga Bryukhovetska, is a year-long attempt to crystallize and redefine the indeterminate re-ordering that emerges from the chance montage the viewer creates through the use of remote control. Dziga Vertov’s 1920s silent newsreels Kinopravda are referenced as a formal and editing model and as a way to emphasize the impossibility of either direct propaganda or of attributing truthfulness to the moving image. The video explicates a schema for television, not only in terms of established television genres and conventions, but also within the specific televisual modality of consuming reality through images. It takes the distinct subjective position of a semi-immediate but cynically indifferent observer, witnessing inevitable and often absurd juxtapositions of what would be considered ‘serious news events’ (for example, war) with predominately entertaining programs.

Close

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
SEAN SNYDER
Sean Snyder. Video excerpts at variable frame rates from Kino Pravada, Dziga Vertov (1922–25) and L'argent, Robert Bresson (1983), 2007, DVD sur moniteur, 3 min 48 s. Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Lisson Gallery, Londres

Sean Snyder puise la matière première de sa pratique dans la circulation mondiale des données. Il explore la stratification des signes et en dévoile des couches inédites de manière intentionnelle mais non didactique. Refusant de se conformer aux conventions, son travail échappe à toute classification simple. Ses recherches résistent à la tendance de l’art contemporain à aspirer à une société de consommateurs mécaniques en parodiant et en reflétant les processus qui lui sont inhérents.

Outrepassant les conventions, la pratique de l’artiste encode l’information en ayant recours à une matrice imprévisible. Ses installations ordonnent de façon anatomique les idées préconçues et déconstruisent les postulats qui peuvent être attribués à un sujet donné. Interrogeant la représentation, ses expérimentations floues apparaissent parfois très claires, oscillant entre fait et fiction. Ainsi, ce qui peut sembler intelligible à première vue peut se révéler beaucoup plus complexe. Inversement, ce qui semble apparemment complexe peut se résoudre de manières très diverses, mais simplement et facilement.

À partir de recherches sur les algorithmes et les inconnues, Snyder décortique l’usage aléatoire des banques de données et de l’information publiquement accessible, produisant des interconnections inattendues (et subjectives) entre la mémoire et la matérialité. À travers la déconstruction et la reconfiguration d’éléments, il élucide des hypothèses à partir de perspectives contradictoires.

(Déclaration de l’artiste)

Sean Snyder vit à Berlin. On peut suivre ses recherches actuelles à l’adresse suivante :
mnemosynedrone.info

EXPLOREZ

  • Comment accédons-nous à une image et comment une image nous parvient-elle ?
  • Comment nos croyances et notre savoir sont-ils structurés par l’information ?
  • Comment les archives iconographiques de Sean Snyder ont-elles été constituées ?
  • Parmi celles-ci, lesquelles sont les archives du futur ?

POUR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS

BOUWHUIS, Jelle, et al. (dirs.) (2009). Now is the Time: Art & Theory in the 21st Century. Rotterdam: NAi Publishers.

BIRNBAUM, Daniel, Jerry SHEERIN et Jan VERWOERT (2007). Sean Snyder. Frankfurt am Main: Portikus / Köln: Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König.

CLARKE, Chris (2010). Search and Seizure: The Ambiguity of Mediation in Sean Snyder’s Untitled (Archive Iraq) Series. Photography & Culture, vol. 3, no 1, p. 65-72.

DECTER, Joshua (2011). Sean Snyder. Artforum, vol. 49, no 7, p. 268-269.

Lire la suite

DEMOS, T. J. (2008). Zones of Conflict. New York: Pratt Institute.

EBNER, Martin et Florian ZEIFANG (dirs.) (2011). Poor Man’s Expression: Technology, Experimental Film, Conceptual Art. New York: Sternberg Press.

ESCHE, Charles (2002). The Slobozian Question. Afterall, no 6, p. 82-87.

FLECK, Robert, Maria LIND et Barbara VANDERLINDEN (1998). Manifesta 2 : European Biennial for Contemporary Art / Luxembourg. Luxembourg: Agence luxembourgeoise d’action culturelle / Casino Luxembourg-Forum d’art contemporain.

LÜTTICKEN, Sven (2005). Sean Snyder, Artforum, vol. 43, no 5, p. 194.

MOSCHOVI, Alexandra, Carol MCKAY and Arabella PLOUVIEZ (dirs.) (2013). The Versatile Image: Photography, Digital Technologies and the Internet. Leuven: Leuven University Press.

POTRC, Marjetica et Sean SNYDER (2002). Ducks, Gambling and Cultural Bankruptcy or, The Bastardised Urban Landscape. Afterall, no 6, p. 88-91.

PRINCE, Mark (2003). Southfork Ranch Romania. Art Monthly, no 264, p. 7-10.

REESE, Simon (2006). Sean Snyder: Double Dubya. ArtUS, no 14, p. 56-59.

SNYDER, Sean (2009). Disobedience in Byelorussia: Self-Interrogation on “Research Based Art”. e-flux journal, no 5, p. 1-10.

SNYDER, Sean (2009). Disobedience in Tokyo. e-flux journal, no 9, p. 1-11.

SNYDER, Sean (2009). Marriott Hotel Islamabad. Dans Bouwhuis, Jelle, et al. (dirs.), Now is the Time: Art & Theory in the 21st Century, Rotterdam: NAi Publishers.

SNYDER, Sean (2008). Optics. Compression. Propaganda. Art & Research, vol. 2, no 1 [En ligne], http://www.artandresearch.org.uk/v2n1/snyder.html Consulté le 8 avril 2015.

VAN WEELDEN, Dirk (2006). On Mobility. Amsterdam: De Appel.

VERWOERT, Jan (2002). Sean Snyder: Jump Cut Cities. Afterall, no 6, p. 70-81.

VERWOERT, Jan (2004). World in Motion. Frieze, no 84, p. 90-95.

WOZNICKI, Krystian (2004). Embedded Pyongyang: American artist Sean Snyder’s reconaissance of North Korea. Springerin, vol. 10, no. 1, p. 42-45.

mnemosynedrone.info

svenlutticken.blogspot.ca/2013/11/sean-snyder-no-apocalypse-not-now.html

espionart.wordpress.com/2014/07/21/featured-artist-sean-snyder

starship-magazine.org/index.php?page=item&issue=11&pages=17ff&view=11

Fermer

Produit avec l’appui du Frederick and Mary Kay Lowy Art Education Fund.

En partenariat avec Le Mois de la Photo à Montréal – 14e édition
La condition post-photographique

Commissaire invité : Joan Fontcuberta

Artiste

Sean Snyder

Né en 1972 à Virginia Beach, Sean Snyder vit et travaille à Berlin. Depuis 1998, son travail a été présenté dans diverses expositions individuelles et collectives, notamment au Barbican Center à Londres (2014); au Kölnischer Kunstverein à Cologne (2013); à la National Gallery of Art à Washington (2012); au Israeli Center for Digital Art à Holon (2010); à Artist Space à New York (2010); au ICA à Londres (2009) et à la Swedish Contemporary Art Foundation à Stockholm (2009). On lui a également décerné plusieurs bourses et prix, entre autres, de l’Office of Contemporary Art Norway à Oslo (2006) et de l’Institute for Contemporary Art à Sofia (2004). Il est représenté par la Lisson Gallery à Londres, la Galerie Chantal Crousel à Paris et la Galerie Neu à Berlin.

Fermer

Oeuvres

Aleatoric Collision (Sony Hacking Scandal), 2015

Aleatoric Collision (Sony Hacking Scandal), 2015
Épreuves numériques, téléphone cellulaire, dvd et étui, livre
Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris, de la Lisson Gallery, Londres et de la Galerie Neu Berlin

Il existe une étrange analogie entre les systèmes de sécurité SNS et le système indien de dabbawala, relativement archaïque mais extrêmement fiable (il s’agit d’un système de livraison de boîtes à lunch par cyclomoteur). Lorsqu’une livraison est planifiée, elle arrive d’habitude à destination. La dissémination virale de la culture d’entreprise peut se refléter dans la réalité. L’épidémie du coronavirus MERS aurait été provoquée par un homme qui a voyagé du Moyen Orient à la Corée du Sud. L’éclosion de ce virus mortel a suscité la panique dans toute la Corée du Sud. Il n’existe aucune explication connue de l’étendue et de la vitesse de sa propagation, ni de la durée de cette menace. Le projet présenté dans cette exposition tente d’examiner la communication de la paranoïa par les canaux à la fois virtuels et physiques. The Interview, un film produit par Sony Pictures, est devenu la pièce maîtresse de l’anxiété transnationale des entreprises, impliquant la sécurité nationale et le recyclage de scénarios de la Guerre Froide à propos de la défense et de menaces d’infiltration. Un scandale de piratage informatique a éclaté le 23 novembre 2014, révélant des secrets d’entreprises provenant d’échanges de courriels entre PDG, incluant la rumeur qui traitait Angelina Jolie d’enfant gâtée. Des pirates informatiques de la Corée du Nord et de la Chine furent blâmés par le FBI : il s’ensuivit des menaces de la part des États-Unis contre un État erratique et imprévisible. La sortie du film, prévue le 24 novembre, a été reportée d’un mois et un jour, faisant les manchettes nationales aux États-Unis. Quelques critiques ont prétendu qu’il s’agissait probablement d’un battage médiatique artificiel afin d’attirer l’attention sur le film, qui fut finalement diffusé le jour de Noël. Lorsque des adresses IP identifiées par des membres de la communauté des pirates informatiques démontrèrent que la fuite avait son origine aux États-Unis, on ne sut plus lequel des États voyous et imprévisibles était à blâmer.

Fermer
Untitled/ (digital imaging/sensor), 2009

Untitled/ (digital imaging/sensor), 2009
Épreuve numérique
Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Lisson Gallery, Londres

En 1960, le satellite météorologique TIROS-1 a rendu possible la première image complète de la Terre. Durant les années qui ont suivi, les astronautes du programme Apollo ont amélioré la qualité de cette reproduction et ils ont produit l’image emblématique The Blue Marble (NASA AS17-148-22727). Pour Luigi Ghirri, il s’agit de l’« Image » qui englobe toutes les images, une sorte d’Aleph visuelle. Cette image peut être vue comme une préfiguration de la mondialisation naissante.
En 2009, Sean Snyder a proposé la mise à jour de ce type d’entreprise, au moment où la technologie numérique a contribué à la consommation de la mondialisation. On voit la surface nue d’un capteur numérique, un dispositif qui permet de voir mais non d’être vu. Alors, lorsque nous faisons face aux images qui modèlent notre conscience, nous devons nous rappeler qu’elles sont toutes nées au sein d’un tel capteur.

Fermer
Index (Storage Media), 2009
Index (Synopsis), 2009

Index (Storage Media), 2009
Épreuves numériques en noir et blanc

Index (Synopsis), 2009
Épreuves numériques en noir et blanc

Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris, de la Lisson Gallery, Londres et de la Galerie Neu Berlin

En 2009, Snyder a organisé et numérisé les archives qu’il avait amassées au cours de ses recherches pour des œuvres précédentes, le tout faisant partie d’un projet intitulé Index : il a détruit l’ancien support – des vidéos analogiques, des planches-contacts photographiques, etc. – pour obtenir un certain nombre de fichiers pouvant être contenus dans une seule clé USB.
Plusieurs œuvres sont nées d’Index, incluant un vaste ensemble de photographies représentant les supports de stockage et les autres éléments physiques des archives de Snyder. Les photographies sont complétées par d’autres éléments, dont des épreuves d’impression montées sur des cartons blancs. Ces expérimentations photographiques donnent un aperçu de la méthode de travail et du vocabulaire formel de Snyder. Le spectateur se trouve face à des formes abstraites qui accentuent la matérialité de l’information et des images.

Fermer
Untitled (Novosti Press Agency), 2007

Untitled (Novosti Press Agency), 2007
Vidéo monobande sur écran EDL, 56 s
Film 16 mm transféré sur video HD, traitée par l’entremise de cinq formats de compression numérique
Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Galerie Neu, Berlin

Le matériel d’origine est une bande d’actualités de 16 mm progressivement compressée pour atteindre la résolution d’un téléphone portable. L’image se limite à ce seul matériel photographique, qui se transforme, au cours du processus de compression, au point de se réduire à une séquence de pixels agrandis dans les nuances de gris.
La prééminence des médias de masse et d’Internet impose aujourd’hui une nouvelle formule de l’information visuelle : hausse de la compression, hausse du potentiel de distribution. Ce dilemme est mis en évidence dans la vidéo Untitled, (Novosti Press Agency) (2007), en démontrant la façon dont la transmission de l’image oblige à un compromis esthétique entre haute et basse qualité, et entre haute et basse résolution, illustrant à quel point la qualité esthétique a été reléguée à l’arrière-plan au profit d’une plus grande accessibilité et d’une plus grande intensité, de façon à ce que les images puissent être rééditées, manipulées, remixées et diffusées. Toutefois, le traitement des images orphelines et altérées est inexorablement lié à une intention transgressive ou subversive : ces images peuvent être vues non seulement comme signes de résistance et d’appropriation, mais aussi, à l’inverse, comme un acte de conformisme et d’exploitation.

Fermer
Radiographic Search (MRI), 2015
Adventure Fragment. Atari (Algorithm), 2015

Radiographic Search (MRI), 2015
Fichier mp3, 13 min 21 s
Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Galerie Neu, Berlin

Adventure Fragment. Atari (Algorithm), 2015
Fichier numérique, 1 min 01 s
Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Galerie Neu, Berlin

Fermer
Casio, Seiko, Sheraton, Toyota, Mars, 2004 – 2005

Casio, Seiko, Sheraton, Toyota, Mars, 2004 – 2005
Projection DVD, son, 13 min 11 s
Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Lisson Gallery, Londres

Des séquences de vidéos d’amateurs et du matériel d’agences de presse sont utilisés afin d’analyser les conventions et les complications intervenant dans la production d’une image emblématique de la guerre. L’accent est également mis sur l’adhésion internationale aux biens de consommation, par-delà toutes les frontières idéologiques. La narration commence ainsi : Des reportages, scénarisées à des fins de consommation, fusionnent les lieux de récents conflits. Les intrigues, les personnages et l’angle de la caméra produisent des images à décoder. Le décor peut être une ville, un paysage montagneux, un refuge ou un centre de villégiature. Les scénarios s’appuient sur des documents, des dossiers, des manuels, des rapports, des vidéos inédites, des images non diffusées, des cartes SIM pour téléphones portables trouvées, des disques durs confisqués et un spectacle dissimulé d’accessoires secondaires.

Fermer
Video excerpts at variable frame rates from Kino Pravda, Dziga Vertov (1922–25) and L'argent, Robert Bresson (1983), 2007
Video excerpts at variable frame rates from Harb ul Mustadhefeen, As Sahab Media (2005), 2007

Video excerpts at variable frame rates from Kino Pravda, Dziga Vertov (1922–25) and L’argent, Robert Bresson (1983), 2007
DVD sur moniteur, 3 min 48 s
Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Lisson Gallery, Londres

Video excerpts at variable frame rates from Harb ul Mustadhefeen, As Sahab Media (2005), 2007
DVD sur moniteur. 3 min 25 s
Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Lisson Gallery, Londres

Une série de vidéos constituées d’images en mouvement disponibles sur Internet. Évitant toute comparaison directe, la sélection effectuée comprend des sujets iconographiques partagés à la fois par le site web du département de la Défense des États-Unis (le DoD) et le matériel médiatique djihadiste. L’œuvre dévoile le vocabulaire visuel et les conventions de production et de réception de l’actuelle guerre de propagande. La résolution, la taille et la compression des images sont cruciales non seulement en ce qui a trait au degré de détails et d’information qu’elles comportent, mais aussi au message politique implicite déterminé à la technologie (haute et basse) à laquelle leurs émetteurs ont accès.

Fermer
Horizontal Propagation, 2015
Question to the CIA (Abstract Expressionism), 2015

Horizontal Propagation, 2015
Casse-tête et socle

Question to the CIA (Abstract Expressionism), 2015
Impression numérique en blanc et noir

Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris, de la Lisson Gallery, Londres et de la Galerie Neu Berlin

Un casse-tête reproduisant Convergence, une œuvre de Jackson Pollock de 1952, a été acquis sur eBay. Selon la description du produit destinée aux consommateurs, « La toile saisissante de Pollock constitue un défi pour l’amateur de casse-tête expérimenté autant que pour l’amateur d’art. » Sur un des côtés de la boîte, on peut lire : « Le casse-tête le plus difficile au monde. » Et sur l’autre : « 340 morceaux – Chacun est différent ». Les morceaux du casse-tête sont éparpillés sur la surface d’une structure horizontale (Horizontal Propagation). La structure, réalisée à l’échelle, correspond à 50 % des dimensions du tableau original qu’on peut voir à la Galerie Albright-Knox. La dimension politique de l’œuvre, son inclusion dans la propagande de la Guerre froide comme représentative de l’idéologie de la liberté et de l’exception américaine (étant donné l’implication présumée de la CIA dans la promotion de l’expressionisme abstrait), est maintenant plus qu’une rumeur de l’histoire de l’art, mais n’a pas encore été documentée. Dans le but de produire un document (encadré), Snyder a pris contact avec la CIA par courriel et a posé la question de l’utilisation de l’art comme arme durant la Guerre froide. La réponse automatique confirmant la réception de la question a été imprimée et est exposée. (Question To The CIA (Abstract Expressionism), 2015).

Fermer
Vertical Traces, 2015
Transcription of Inquiry to METRA (Chicago Urban Transport), 2015

Vertical Traces, 2015
Fichier de données HD, 1 min 20 s

Transcription of Inquiry to METRA (Chicago Urban Transport), 2015
Épreuve numérique

Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris, de la Lisson Gallery, Londres et de la Galerie Neu Berlin

Une projection vidéo verticale trace le lieu d’une intervention de Daniel Buren intitulée Watch The Doors, Please!, commandée par le Art Institute of Chicago. L’espace d’exposition était entièrement vide, mais l’horaire des circuits de métro adjacents était disponible pour le public. Cette intervention, présentée de 1980 à 1982, a été définie non seulement comme in situ, mais « en mouvement ». La projection de Snyder documente le lieu de l’intervention visible depuis l’espace d’exposition en juxtaposant les images accessibles présentement en ayant recours aux technologies de visionnement à distance disponibles en ligne. Les recherches de Google Earth représentent les lieux sous la forme d’un plan topographique rigide alors que la recherche faite avec Bing anime les voies du réseau de transport de façon amusante en traçant les lignes ferroviaires en gris et blanc, ce qui rappelle de façon ironique les célèbres bandes de couleur de Buren.

Fermer
Schema (Television), 2006-2007

Schema (Television), 2006-2007
DVD sur moniteur, son, 10 min
Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et de la Lisson Gallery, Londres

Cette œuvre, scénarisée en collaboration avec Olga Bryukhovetska, est le fruit d’une année de travail dans le but de rendre concrète et de redéfinir la restructuration indéterminée due au hasard lorsque le spectateur crée un montage en utilisant une télécommande. Les films d’actualités muets produits par Dziga Vertov au cours des années 1920 sous le titre de Kino-Pravda sont utilisés comme modèles formels et de montage afin de mettre l’accent sur la double impossibilité de la propagande directe et de l’attribution d’une quelconque véracité aux images a en mouvement. La vidéo propose une explication de la télévision sous forme de schéma, non seulement en termes de genres et de conventions télévisuels établis, mais aussi en décrivant cette fonction précise de la télévision qui consiste à consumer la réalité à travers les images. Elle emprunte distinctement la position subjective d’un observateur semi-immédiat, mais faisant preuve de cynisme et d’indifférence, devenu témoin de la juxtaposition inévitable et souvent absurde de ce qu’on appelle les « actualités sérieuses » (la guerre, par exemple) et des émissions centrées sur le divertissement.

Fermer