Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
Sir George Williams Gallery, Henry F. Hall Building, Concordia University, late 1970’s

ESTABLISHING A CONTEXT

Concordia University is indebted to Douglass Burns Clarke who championed the emancipation of the arts in an educational context in his capacity as an English and Drama Studies professor, Vice-President and Acting President. This man “[…] was convinced that the arts should play an essential role in university life and that the art appreciation and music classes he taught in this vocational and general education college should be the core of a complete visual arts and stage arts program.” (Leah Sherman, Celebrating the Faculty of Fine Arts, 1976). Burns Clarke participated in several successive stages to develop an arts education program as part of the Sir-George-Williams Art School at the Y.M.C.A. (1851-1950), the Art Education Department at Sir-George-Williams College (1926-1948), the BFA at Sir-George-Williams University (1948-1974) and the Faculty of Fine Arts – Concordia University (1974-now). This faculty was created after the fusion of Sir-George-Williams University and Loyola College (1899-1974) in 1974.

In 1962, the Department of Fine Arts was established as part of the Faculty of Arts and the businessman Samuel Schecter addressed a proposal for an artwork collection project to Douglass Burns Clarke. The proposal was well received and implemented with an initial project to collect contemporary Canadian works in Montreal, two years before the inauguration of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. In 1966, the Sir-George-Williams Gallery was created to gather the works acquired due to the great success of the enterprise.

Douglass Burns Clarke, Alfred Pinsky, Edwy Cooke and Leah Sherman, in particular, created a conducive context for the development, conservation and dissemination of the collection which, after having been enriched by their many successors, gave rise to a significant body of works and leading-edge museum practices, which now meet international museum standards. In this regard, the content and condition of the current collection represent an important commitment towards the artistic and university communities.

The chronology of the collection gives an account of the collection’s history.

Conservation

The works are stored in a museum vault adjacent to the Gallery’s exhibition spaces. The ambient condition of this storage space is in accordance with international conservation standards; it is regulated and stable. The humidity level is set between 42% and 50% and the temperature varies between 20° and 21,5° Celsius depending on the time of year. The vault is equipped with specialized museum furnishings and with a fluorescent lighting system that filters ultraviolet rays.

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
Galeries d’art Sir George Williams, édifice Henry F. Hall, Université Concordia, fin des années 1970

ÉTABLIR UN CONTEXTE

L’Université Concordia est redevable à Douglass Burns Clarke qui s’est profondément engagé dans l’émancipation des arts dans le contexte d’éducation à titre de professeur d’anglais et d’art dramatique, de vice-recteur et de recteur par intérim. Cet homme « […] était convaincu que les arts devaient jouer un rôle primordial dans la vie universitaire et que les cours d’appréciation de l’art et de la musique qu’il dispensait dans ce collège de formation générale seraient le noyau d’un programme complet des arts visuels et des arts de la scène. » (Leah Sherman, Hommage à la Faculté des beaux-arts, 1976). Burns Clarke a participé à plusieurs étapes successives du développement de la transmission d’une éducation artistique au sein de l’École d’art Sir-George-Williams du Y.M.C.A. (1851-1950), du Département d’éducation artistique du Collège Sir-George-Williams (1926-1948), du baccalauréat en arts de l’Université Sir-George-Williams (1948-1974) et de la Faculté des beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia (1974-aujourd’hui). Cette faculté a été créée un an après à la fusion de l’Université Sir-George-Williams (1948-1974) et du Collège Loyola (1899-1974) en 1974.

L’année 1962 marque la création du Département des beaux-arts au sein de la Faculté des arts et la proposition d’un projet de collectionnement d’œuvres de l’homme d’affaires Samuel Schecter adressée à Douglass Burns Clarke. La proposition a été bien accueillie et, mise de l’avant, elle démarrait un premier projet de collectionnement d’œuvres contemporaines canadiennes à Montréal, deux ans avant l’ouverture du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. En 1966, la Galerie Sir-George-Williams était créée pour rassembler les œuvres acquises compte tenu du grand succès de l’entreprise.

Douglass Burns Clarke, Alfred Pinsky, Edwy Cooke et Leah Sherman, notamment, ont créé un contexte propice au développement, à la conservation et à la diffusion de la collection qui, enrichie par leurs nombreux successeurs, a donné lieu au rassemblement de corpus signifiants et de pratiques muséales de pointe, aujourd’hui en adéquation avec les normes muséologiques internationales. En ces termes, le contenu et l’état de la collection actuelle représentent un important engagement envers les communautés artistique et universitaire.

La chronologie de la collection rend compte d’une histoire de la collection.

Conservation des œuvres

Les œuvres sont conservées dans une réserve muséale qui est attenante aux salles d’exposition de la Galerie. Les conditions ambiantes de ce lieu d’entreposage correspondent aux normes de conservation internationales; elles sont contrôlées et stables. Le taux d’humidité se situe entre 42 et 50 % et la température varie entre 20 et 21,5° Celcius selon la période de l’année. Elle est éclairée par des tubes fluorescents qui filtrent les rayons ultra-violets et est équipée d’un mobilier muséologique spécialisé.