Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
Local Records

tavola66

Thursday, September 21, 2:30 pm – 4:30 pm

The Feather Book of Dionisio Minaggio, 1618

Carla Benzan, Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow, McGill University

Location: Rare Books and Special Collections, McGill Library
4th floor – 3459 rue McTavish

RSVP (limited space)

Workshop led by Carla Benzan on histories of making images of nature with materials drawn from nature and our fascination with the boundary zone between the human and animal.

The interface between human and animal is literally raised on the surface of a seventeenth-century “Feather Book” depicting over one hundred birds along with a cast of human figures all composed through the intricate application of real feathers and bird skin on the page. Blurring the boundary between the ‘real’ and ‘representation’, this intriguing object prompts questions about the role of materiality, affect and embodiment in knowledge formation. Produced in 1618 by Dionisio Minaggio, the Chief Gardener of the Spanish State of Milan, the Feather Book couples the objectivity of scientific illustration in its representations of regional birds with portraits of known stage actors in their signature roles. Techniques employed draw influence from Central American feather decoration as encountered through the sixteenth-century European market after contact, as well as the popular tradition of Italian ‘pietra dura’ where detailed landscapes are set out in inlaid stone. Troubling the act of mimesis with the presence of the real, these feather collages bring to question the specious divide between nature and artifice. This workshop will explore the intersection of bodily, emotional and conceptual work that is demanded of viewers who confront such imagery.

Carla Benzan is a Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow at McGill University who has published on contemporary, modern and early modern art. Her past and present research investigates the status of sacred images and new strategies of illusionism in the sculpture, painting, and printed images of northern Italy after the Council of Trent. Since completing her PhD dissertation on the Sacro Monte of Varallo at the University College London, Carla has been a Teaching Fellow at UCL and a Lecturer and Visiting Scholar at the University of Essex.

Local Records is a program that pairs exhibitions with relevant archival holdings in Montreal. Animated by a guest researcher each seminar coordinates encounters and discussions around a selection of primary documents, offering a local lens through which to consider the exhibition and a point of departure for new research.


CARNATIONS

August 30 – October 21, 2017

Curator: Michèle Thériault

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
Archives locales

tavola76

Jeudi 21 septembre, 14 h 30 à 16 h 30

Le livre des plumes de Dionisio Minaggio, 1618

Carla Benzan, boursière postdoctorale Mellon, Université McGill

Lieu : Bibliothèque des livres rares et collections spéciales, Université McGill
4e étage – 3459 rue McTavish

Atelier animé par Carla Benzan sur l’histoire de la création d’images de nature réalisées à l’aide de matériaux puisés dans la nature et sur notre fascination avec la frontière entre l’humain et l’animal.

L’interface entre l’humain et l’animal apparaît en relief sur les pages d’un « Livre des plumes » du XVIIe siècle représentant plus d’une centaine d’oiseaux de même qu’une série de figures humaines, tous créés à partir d’une application complexe de vraies plumes et de peau d’oiseaux sur la page. En brouillant la frontière entre le « réel » et la « représentation », cet objet fascinant suscite un questionnement sur la fonction de la matérialité, de l’affect et de l’incarnation dans le développement du savoir. Réalisé en 1618 par Dionisio Minaggio, qui fut le chef jardinier de l’État espagnol de Milan, Le livre des plumes associe l’objectivité de l’illustration scientifique dans sa représentation des oiseaux de diverses régions à des portraits d’acteurs de théâtre connus dans leur rôle fétiche. Les techniques utilisées manifestent l’influence des décorations de plumes d’Amérique centrale qu’on pouvait retrouver sur le marché européen au XVIe siècle après le premier contact, de même que celle de la tradition populaire de la « pietra dura » italienne, selon laquelle des paysages détaillés sont réalisés à même des incrustations de pierre. Dérangeant l’action de la mimesis par la présence du réel, ces collages de plumes posent la question de la division trompeuse entre le naturel et l’artificiel. Cet atelier explore le croisement du travail physique, émotionnel et conceptuel qu’une telle imagerie exige des spectateurs qui lui font face.

Les publications de Carla Benzan, boursière postdoctorale Mellon à l’Université McGill, une telle imagerie l’art contemporain, l’art moderne et les débuts de l’art moderne. Ses recherches se penchent sur le statut des images sacrées et les nouvelles stratégies de l’illusionnisme dans la sculpture, la peinture et la gravure de l’Italie du Nord après le Concile de Trente. Depuis le dépôt de sa thèse de doctorat sur le Mont Sacré de Varallo au University College de Londres, Carla a occupé le poste d’assistante d’enseignement au UCL et de professeure invitée à l’université d’Essex.

En anglais

Archives locales est un programme qui établit une correspondance entre les expositions de la Galerie et des fonds d’archives situés à Montréal. Chaque séminaire est animé par un chercheur.e invité.e et prend la forme de rencontres et de discussions autour d’une sélection de documents primaires. L’objectif de ce programme et est d’enrichir la compréhension de l’exposition à partir d’un point de vue local ainsi que d’ouvrir de nouvelles pistes de recherche.


CARNATIONS

30 août au 21 octobre 2017

Commissaire : Michèle Thériault