Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
ONE.TWO.THREE
2016_02_05_444_OneTwoThree_Judith_Concert_01

Vincent Meessen, still from One.Two.Three, 2015. Courtesy of the artist and Normal, Brussels

One.Two.Three, Vincent Meessen, 2015
35 min., HD-single channel video, color, sound, format scope, French and Kinkongo subtitled in English

Screening accompanied by conversations between Vincent Meessen, Pierre Kwenders, Thomas McDonough, and Bob White

Thursday, September 28, 7 – 10 pm

Location: Bar Le ‘Ritz’ PDB, 179 rue Jean-Talon O.

Free admission

A musical and historical dérive set to a Congolese rumba, Meessen’s video explores the participation of Congolese intellectuals in the Situationist International movement and the unfinished work of decolonization from 1968 to today.

Commissioned for the 56th Venice Biennale in 2015, One.Two.Three circumvents the trap of Situationist mythology by way of a protest song composed by Congolese Situationist Joseph M’Belolo Ya M’Piku in May 1968, its lyrics long folded away in the archives of Belgian Situationist Raoul Vaneigem. Shot in and around the legendary Kinshasa nightclub, Un. Deux. Trois, Meessen worked with M’Belolo and a group of young female musicians to produce a new rendition of the song. In the course of the band’s perambulations through the club and their attunements to one another the venue becomes an echo chamber for the impasses of history and the unfinished promises of revolutionary theory.

The screening is accompanied by conversations between Meessen, musician Pierre Kwenders, art historian Thomas McDonough, Binghamton University, and anthropologist Bob White, Université de Montréal.

A CKUT 90.3 co-presentation

ckut_logo_00_ol_43

Une vidéo des conversations peut être visionnée dans la section Audio | Vidéo.


Brussels-based Vincent Meessen’s work and artistic research have consistently explored the history and afterlife of colonial modernity. Through the use of various media he re-animates hidden or forgotten narratives of the relationship between Europe and Africa into speculative scenarios, pointing to the colonial matrix of western modernity. Both in his work as an artist and in his para-curatorial activities, Meessen likes to use procedures of collaborations that undermine the authority of the author and emphasize the intelligence of collectives. He is a founding member of Jubilee, a Brussels-based platform for research and artistic production.
 He represented Belgium at the 56th Venice Biennale in 2015 with the collective exhibition Personne et les autres. Vincent Meessen completed his postgraduate studies in 2005 at the HISK (Higher Institute for Fine Arts) in Antwerp.

Vincent Meessen will be presenting at the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery his new project Ultramarine in the fall of 2018

Afro-Canadian singer/songwriter Pierre Kwenders’ music is a response to a world that so often asks people who fit comfortably in multiple boxes to pick only one. While Pierre’s music ranges from icy R&B to futuristic hip-hop, his style is rooted in Congolese rumba, the ubiquitous sound of The Democratic Republic of Congo. He also sings and raps in five languages, allowing him aesthetic options most artists cannot. Kwenders 2014 full-length Le Dernier Empereur Bantou established him as a torchbearer for a new wave of African artists. With MAKANDA (At The End of Space, the Beginning of Time), his new full-length, Pierre looks to build on the success of his debut. Produced entirely by Seattle-based Fly Guy Dai (aka Tendai Maraire of Shabazz Palaces), Makanda pivots from Bantou‘s housey thump to something more instrumental, incorporating strong African influence and old-school West Coast hip-hop vibes into Kwenders unique recipe.

Tom McDonough is a writer and critic based in upstate New York and Toronto. He writes extensively on contemporary art, with recent essays on Theaster Gates, Philippe Parreno, Adam Pendleton, Wolfgang Tillmans, Christopher Williams, and Haegue Yang. His articles have appeared in journals such as Afterall, Artforum, Bomb, Canadian Art, October, Parkett, and OSMOS, where he is a contributing editor. Boredom, his anthology in the “Documents in Contemporary Art” series from the Whitechapel, appeared earlier this year. Other publications include The Situationists and the City (Verso, 2009), The Beautiful Language of My Century: Reinventing the Language of Contestation in Postwar France, 1945-1968 (MIT Press, OCTOBER Books, 2007), and the anthology Guy Debord and the Situationist International: Texts and Documents (MIT Press, OCTOBER Books, 2002). He has taught at University of California, Berkeley and Harvard, and currently is Associate Professor of Art History at Binghamton University, State University of New York.

Bob W. White is associate professor in the Department of Anthropology at Université de Montréal and the director of Laboratoire de recherche en relations interculturelles (LABRRI). Since 2012 he has led the multi-sectorial research partnership “Vers une ville interculturelle” (SSHRC 2012-2015), which aims to document intercultural dynamics within urban space. He has published texts on popular music, globalisation, cultural politics, methods of collaborative research, and intercultural politics and cohabitation in a multiethnic context. His first book, Rumba Rules: The Politics of Dance Music in Mobutu’s Zaire (Duke, 2008) received numerous prizes (among them the Anthony Leeds Prize in Urban Anthropology and the Joel Gregory Prize in African Studies). His most recent book (with Lomomba Emongo) is L’interculturel au Québec : rencontres historiques et enjeux politiques (Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 2014). He is currently working on a series of publications with the European Council on the subject of intercultural cities and a monograph on theories of encounter within an intercultural context.

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
One.Two.Three
2016_02_05_444_OneTwoThree_Judith_Concert_01

Vincent Meessen, image fixe tirée de One.Two.Three, 2015. Avec l’aimable concours de l’artiste et Normal, Bruxelles

One.Two.Three, Vincent Meessen, 2015
Projection accompagnée de conversations entre Vincent Meessen, Thomas McDonough, Pierre Kwenders et Bob White

Jeudi 28 septembre
Portes à 18 h 30

Lieu : Bar Le ‘Ritz’ PDB, 179 rue Jean-Talon O.

Entrée libre

Dérive musicale et historique sur fond de rumba congolaise, la vidéo de Meessen explore l’implication d’intellectuels congolais dans le mouvement de l’Internationale situationniste et le travail inachevé de décolonisation de 1968 à aujourd’hui.

Créée pour la 56e Biennale de Venise en 2015, One.Two.Three court-circuite le piège de la mythologie situationniste au moyen d’un chant de révolte (protest song) composé par le situationniste congolais Joseph M’Belolo Ya M’Piku en mai 1968, dont les paroles furent longtemps reléguées aux archives du situationniste belge Raoul Vaneigem. Ayant localisé son tournage à l’intérieur et aux abords de la légendaire boîte de nuit de Kinshasa Un. Deux. Trois, Meessen a travaillé avec M’Belolo et un groupe de jeunes musiciennes à produire une nouvelle interprétation de la chanson. À la faveur des déambulations du groupe dans la boîte de nuit et de leur recherche d’harmonisation, le lieu devient une chambre d’écho répondant aux impasses de l’histoire et aux promesses non tenues de la théorie révolutionnaire.

La projection est accompagnée de conversations entre Meessen, l’historien d’art Thomas McDonough de l’Université de Binghamton, le musicien Pierre Kwenders et l’anthropologue Bob White de l’Université de Montréal.

Une co-présentation de CKUT 90.3

ckut_logo_00_ol_43


Le travail et la recherche artistiques de l’artiste bruxellois Vincent Meessen prennent la forme d’une exploration systématique de l’histoire et des survivances de la modernité coloniale. Par le recours à divers medias, il réanime les récits cachés ou oubliés des rapports entre l’Europe et l’Afrique dans des scénarios spéculatifs mettant en lumière la matrice coloniale de la modernité occidentale. Autant dans son travail d’artiste que dans ses activités paracuratoriales, Meessen choisit des procédures de collaboration qui subvertissent l’autorité de l’auteur et mettent l’accent sur l’intelligence des collectivités. Il est un des membres fondateurs de Jubilee, une plateforme bruxelloise dédiée à la recherche et à la production artistiques. 
Il a représenté la Belgique à la 56e Biennale de Venise en 2015 en mettant sur pied l’exposition collective Personne et les autres. En 2005, Vincent Meessen a complété ses études supérieures au HISK (Higher Institute for Fine Arts) d’Anvers.

Vincent Meesen présentera son nouveau projet, Ultramarine, à la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen à l’automne 2018.

La musique de l’auteur-compositeur-interprète afro-canadien Pierre Kwenders fait l’éloge d’une pluralité des genres musicaux bien assumée et évolue au sein de plusieurs sphères.  Bien que la musique de Pierre varie du R&B glacial au hip hop futuriste, son style est enraciné dans la rumba congolaise, le son omniprésent de la République Démocratique du Congo. Il chante et rappe également en cinq langues, ce qui lui donne une liberté artistique sur le plan lyrique et esthétique que la plupart des artistes n’a pas. Le Dernier Empereur Bantou, le premier long jeu de l’artiste sorti en 2014, l’a positionné comme porteur de flambeau pour une nouvelle vague d’artistes africains. Avec son nouvel album MAKANDA (At The End of Space, the Beginning of Time), entièrement réalisé par l’artiste de Seattle Fly Guy Dai (aussi connu sous le nom de Tendai Maraire du groupe Shabazz Palaces), Makanda délaisse le son up-tempo du Dernier Empereur Bantou pour quelque chose de plus instrumental, en incorporant une forte influence africaine et une vibe hip-hop old-school de la côte Ouest à la recette unique de Pierre Kwenders.

Tom McDonough est écrivain et critique d’art basé dans l’État de New York et à Toronto. Il écrit régulièrement sur l’art contemporain ; ses essais sur Theaster Gates, Philippe Parreno, Adam Pendleton, Wolfgang Tillmans, Christopher Williams et Haegue Yang sont récemment parus. Ses articles ont été publiés dans différentes revues, notamment Afterall, Artforum, BombCanadian Art, October, Parkett, et OSMOS, où il est également collaborateur à la rédaction. Son anthologie Boredom a été publiée par Whitechapel au début de l’année, dans le cadre de la série « Documents in Contemporary Art ». Ses autres publications incluent The Situationists and the City (Verso, 2009), The Beautiful Language of My Century: Reinventing the Language of Contestation in Postwar France, 1945-1968 (MIT Press, OCTOBER Books, 2007), et l’anthologie Guy Debord and the Situationist International: Texts and Documents (MIT Press, OCTOBER Books, 2002). Il a enseigné à l’Université de Californie à Berkeley et à l’Université Harvard. Il est actuellement professeur titulaire en histoire de l’art à l’Université de l’État de New York à Binghamton.

Bob W. White est professeur titulaire au Département d’Anthropologie à l’Université de Montréal et directeur du Laboratoire de recherche en relations interculturelles (LABRRI). Depuis 2012, il dirige le partenariat de recherche multi-sectoriel « Vers une ville interculturelle » (CRSH 2012-2015) qui vise à documenter les dynamiques interculturelles dans l’espace urbain. Il a publié des textes sur la musique populaire, la mondialisation, les politiques culturelles, les méthodes de recherche collaboratives, et les politiques interculturelles et le vivre-ensemble en contexte pluriethnique. Son premier livre Rumba Rules : The Politics of Dance Music in Mobutu’s Zaire (Duke, 2008) a reçu plusieurs prix (dont le Prix Anthony Leeds en anthropologie urbaine et le Prix Joel Gregory en études africaines). Son dernier livre (en collaboration avec Lomomba Emongo) s’intitule L’interculturel au Québec : rencontres historiques et enjeux politiques (Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 2014). Il travaille actuellement sur une série de publications avec le Conseil de l’Europe au sujet des villes interculturelles et une monographie sur les théories de la rencontre en contexte interculturel.