Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
SIGHTINGS 33 – PRESENTATIONS & DISCUSSION
Emmanuelle Duret, 726 vers Dachau (détail), 2019. Courtesy of the artist.

PRESENTATIONS & DISCUSSION IN PERSON

Wednesday November 17, 5:00 pm
In French and English
Free, at the Gallery

Watch the video

Join artist Emmanuelle Duret for a presentation of her SIGHTINGS 33 project followed by a conversation with María Juliana Angarita, doctoral researcher in museology, mediation and heritage, as well as Jennifer Carter, museologist and art and architecture historian. The three participants will present their research and discuss the challenges of reconstruction as a museographic strategy in sites of remembrance marked by violence.

Presentations:

Duret will retrace the production process of her project Die KZ und die Gedenkstätte: Replica I, from visiting the concentration camp to the design of her photographic installation addressing the reconstruction of the wrought-iron gate.

Angarita will provide insight on the contemporary relations between heritage and places of memory based on the concept of heritage of atrocity “from below.”

Finally, Carter’s presentation will consider the contemporary rise of human rights museums in different geopolitical contexts around the globe, and the expographic strategies employed as they mediate history, memory and historical justice.

Bio

Read more

Emmanuelle Duret lives and works in Tiohtià:ke / Montréal. She has participated in research residencies and group exhibitions at several centres including VU photo, Avatar, and Axenéo7, and is currently completing her Master’s degree in Visual and Media Arts at the Université du Québec à Montréal. Through an interdisciplinary and conceptual approach, Duret explores the boundaries and links between text, image, space, memory, and history while creating a dialogue with photography as a way to bring about historiographic reflections. Her current projects examine memorial sites, dark tourism, intergenerational transmission, and written and oral history.

María Juliana Angarita is a doctoral researcher in museology, mediation, and heritage at the Université du Québec à Montréal under the direction of Jennifer Carter. She is a Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Fellow and a Doctoral Fellow of the Fonds de recherche du Québec. She is interested in processes of heritage-building “from below” within the communities affected by the internal armed conflict in Colombia.

Jennifer Carter is Associate professor in the Department of Art History and interfaculty graduate Museology programs at the Université du Québec à Montréal in Canada, where she recently completed a 5-year term as Director of the museology programs. Jennifer’s research investigates the global phenomenon of human rights museology, and considers how historical and social justice are negotiated curatorially and pedagogically in cultural institutions dedicated to human rights in different geopolitical contexts around the world.

Close

SIGHTINGS 33

This public program is part of SIGHTINGS 33, presented from September 2021 to January 2022 on the ground floor of the Hall Building of Concordia University: 1455, blvd. De Maisonneuve West, accessible weekdays and weekends from 7 am to 11 pm.

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
SIGHTINGS 33 – PRÉSENTATIONS & DISCUSSION
Emmanuelle Duret, 726 vers Dachau (détail), 2019. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Présentations & discussion EN PERSONNE

Mercredi 17 novembre, 17h00
En français et en anglais
Gratuit, à la galerie

Visionnez la vidéo

L’artiste Emmanuelle Duret présentera son projet SIGHTINGS 33 et s’entretiendra avec María Juliana Angarita, chercheuse doctorante en muséologie, médiation, patrimoine, ainsi que Jennifer Carter, historienne de l’art et de l’architecture et muséologue. Les trois participantes présenteront leurs recherches et échangeront autour des enjeux de la reconstitution comme stratégie muséographique dans les lieux de mémoire marqués par la violence.

Présentations:

Duret retracera le processus de production de son projet, de la visite du camp de concentration jusqu’à la conception de l’installation photographique, abordant la reconstitution de la porte en fer forgé.

À partir du concept de patrimoine d’atrocités construit « d’en bas », Angarita proposera des pistes de réflexion sur les relations contemporaines entre patrimoine et lieux de mémoire.

Enfin, la présentation de Carter examinera l’essor contemporain des musées des droits de l’homme dans différents contextes géopolitiques à travers le monde, et leurs stratégies expographiques en tant que médiateurs entre l’histoire, la mémoire et la justice historique.

Biographies

Lire la suite

Emmanuelle Duret vit et travaille à Tiohtià:ke / Montréal. Elle a effectué des résidences de recherche et participé à des expositions collectives, notamment à VU photo, Avatar et Axenéo7. Elle termine actuellement une maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Par une approche à la fois interdisciplinaire et conceptuelle, elle explore les limites et les liens entre texte, image, espace, mémoire et histoire tout en créant un dialogue avec le média photographique afin d’en faire émerger des réflexions historiographiques. Ses projets en cours abordent les sujets des lieux de mémoires, du tourisme noir, de la transmission intergénérationnelle et de l’histoire écrite et orale.

María Juliana Angarita est chercheuse doctorante en muséologie, médiation et patrimoine à l’Université du Québec à Montréal sous la direction de Jennifer Carter. Elle est boursière de la Fondation Pierre Elliott Trudeau et récipiendaire d’une bourse doctorale des Fonds de recherche du Québec. Elle s’intéresse aux processus de patrimonialisation « d’en bas » au sein des communautés victimes du conflit armé interne colombien.

Jennifer Carter est historienne de l’art et de l’architecture et muséologue et professeure en Nouvelles muséologies, patrimoines immatériels et objets culturels au Département d’histoire de l’art l’Université du Québec à Montréal, où elle a récemment terminé un mandat de 5 ans en tant que directrice du programme de muséologie. Ses recherches s’orientent selon deux axes principaux : la relation des musées, la défense des droits et de la justice historique et sociale, ainsi que les relations entre la représentation, l’architecture des musées et l’expographie.

Fermer

SIGHTINGS 33

Ce programme public accompagne le projet SIGHTINGS 33, présenté de septembre 2021 à janvier 2022 au rez-de-chaussée du Pavillon Hall de l’Université Concordia : 1455, boul. De Maisonneuve Ouest, accessible tous les jours de 7 h à 23 h.