Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
INTERACTIONS
Jana Sterbak, Artist as Combustible, 1986. Color photograph.
Purchase - Special Purchase Assistance Grant, Canada Council for the Arts, 2002. Collection, Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Concordia University. Photo: Richard-Max Tremblay

August 30 – October 27, 2012

Curated by Mélanie Rainville

Bertille Bak, Olivia Boudreau, Louis-Philippe Côté, Rachel Echenberg, Erin Gee, Nelson Henricks, John Massey, Thérèse Mastroiacovo, Alana Riley, Jana Sterbak, Sharif Waked, Hong-Kai Wang

Exhibition Opening
Wednesday August 29, 5:30 – 7:30

Events
Ways of Thinking

Critics, art historians and theorists have often noted a divide between contemporary artists and their publics. This divide is particularly noticeable when the media transforms artistic occurences into controversies. Interactions, an exhibition that offers both a pedagogical and esthetic experience, deals with the reception and interpretation of contemporary art by investigating the rift that persists between art and the public, despite increased institutionalization and professionalization of art.

The exhibition, featuring some works from the Gallery’s permanent collection underscores the interaction that takes place between artworks and the public. It aims to define the nature of this relationship by posing questions on the reception of the works: What is our relationship to works of contemporary art, and how do we interpret them? What impact do they have on our way of understanding and reflecting on the world around us? What thought processes and actions do these artworks incite in us? In order to raise these questions, the works are subjected to various interpretive strategies that deepen and stratify their reception. With the goal of highlighting some of the parameters that define the gap between contemporary art and its publics, the exhibition includes written and spoken accounts of some thirty participants to the project as well as documentation on various controversies that have taken place in Québec and Canada.

Interactions initiates a process of reflection within the art milieu on a question that is often only debated when it becomes the subject of a controversy fueled by the media.

Participants
Rose-Marie Arbour, Olivier Asselin, Guylaine Beaudry, Anne Bérubé, Claude R. Blouin, Nicole Burisch, Kevin Calixte, Adam Cantor, Prof. Norman Cornett, Timothy Dallett, Louise Dandurand, Denise Desautels, Martin Dicaire, Jason Friedman, Amelia Jones, Stéphanie Julien, Tania Laliberté, Nicole Lattuca, Marc James Léger, Fabien Loszach, François Morelli, Claude Poissant, Eduardo Ralickas, Anil Ramcharand, Raymond Saint-Pierre, Cheryl Sim, Dominique Sirois-Rouleau, Erandy Vergara Vargas, Anne Whitelaw, Ida Zhang

The Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery’s contemporary exhibition program is supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.

Hong-Kai Wang acknowledges the support of the Ministry of Culture, Taiwan.

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
INTERACTIONS
Jana Sterbak, Artist as Combustible, 1986. Photographie couleur. Achat - Subvention spéciale d'aide aux acquisitions, Conseil des Arts du Canada, 2002. Collection, Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Université Concordia. Photo: Richard-Max Tremblay

30 août au 27 octobre 2012

Commissariée par Mélanie Rainville

Bertille Bak, Olivia Boudreau, Louis-Philippe Côté, Rachel Echenberg, Erin Gee, Nelson Henricks, John Massey, Thérèse Mastroiacovo, Alana Riley, Jana Sterbak, Sharif Waked, Hong-Kai Wang

Vernissage de l’exposition
Mercredi 29 août 2012 de 17h30 à 19h30

Événements
Pistes de réflexion

Un écart entre le public et l’art contemporain a souvent été relevé par les critiques, les historiens et les théoriciens de l’art. Cet écart devient visible lorsque les médias transforment certaines occurrences artistiques en controverse. Interactions, une exposition qui combine une expérience à la fois pédagogique et esthétique, porte sur la réception et l’interprétation de l’art contemporain en examinant ce clivage qui résiste toujours à l’institutionnalisation et à la professionnalisation du champ artistique.

Cette exposition, qui inclut des œuvres de la collection de la Galerie, explore comment les œuvres et le public interagissent. Elle soulève des questions liées à la réception : quel est la nature du rapport que nous entretenons avec les œuvres contemporaines et comment les interprétons-nous? Quel impact ont-elles sur notre façon de réfléchir et de comprendre le monde qui nous entoure? Quelles réflexions et actions ces œuvres nous mènent-elles à déployer? Pour ce faire, les œuvres sont soumises à diverses stratégies interprétatives qui approfondissent et stratifient l’examen de leur réception. On y retrouve des commentaires écrits et oraux d’une trentaine d’intervenants, ainsi que des dossiers de documents traitant de différentes controverses survenues dans le milieu artistique du Québec et du Canada. Ainsi le public sera amené à découvrir les paramètres qui régissent le décalage qui peut exister entre le milieu de l’art contemporain et ses publics.

Interactions élabore une réflexion au sein du milieu artistique sur un sujet qui rarement fait l’objet d’un débat en dehors des polémiques qui éclatent dans la sphère médiatique.

Intervenants
Rose-Marie Arbour, Olivier Asselin, Guylaine Beaudry, Anne Bérubé, Claude R. Blouin, Nicole Burisch, Kevin Calixte, Adam Cantor, Pr Norman Cornett, Timothy Dallett, Louise Dandurand, Denise Desautels, Martin Dicaire, Jason Friedman, Amelia Jones, Stéphanie Julien, Tania Laliberté, Nicole Lattuca, Marc James Léger, Fabien Loszach, François Morelli, Claude Poissant, Eduardo Ralickas, Anil Ramcharand, Raymond Saint-Pierre, Cheryl Sim, Dominique Sirois-Rouleau, Erandy Vergara Vargas, Anne Whitelaw, Ida Zhang

Le programme contemporain de la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen bénéficie du soutien du Conseil des Arts du Canada.

Hong-Kai Wang remercie le Ministère de la Culture de Taiwan de son appui financier.