Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 

SIGHTINGS 2021-2022
FICTION

Launched in 2012 in celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery’s Permanent Collection, the SIGHTINGS satellite exhibition program was conceived as an experimental platform to critically reflect upon the possibilities and limitations of the modernist “white cube.” As part of this program, artists and curators are invited to develop projects for a cubic display unit located in a public space at the university, with the aim of generating new strategies for art dissemination.

The projects for the 2021-2022 edition of SIGHTINGS take up the theme of fiction as a place for reality in-the-making. Informed by the recent efforts to dismantle those fictions petrified as monuments, memorials, and statues, and, with them, the status-quo they reinforce, the program asks questions of collective memory, faithful representation, and the validity of facts—in particular how these interact with public space and the built environment. Working within and beyond the premise of the cube, interventions examine how fictions are constructed and how they take up space, what models of truth and forgetting they carry, and how they produce what is taken for reality.

SIGHTINGS is located on the ground floor of the Hall Building: 1455, blvd. De Maisonneuve West and is accessible weekdays and weekends from 7 am to 11 pm. The program is developed by Julia Eilers Smith.

SIGHTINGS 33
Die KZ und die Gedenkstätte: Replica
Emmanuelle Duret, 726 vers Dachau (détail), 2019.
Emmanuelle Duret, Replica I (détail), 2019.
Emmanuelle Duret, Replica I (détail), 2019.

September 2021 – January 2022

A project by Emmanuelle Duret

Emmanuelle Duret lives and works in Tiohtià:ke / Montréal. She has participated in research residencies and group exhibitions at several centres including VU photo, Avatar, and Axenéo7, and is currently completing her Master’s degree in Visual and Media Arts at the Université du Québec à Montréal. Through an interdisciplinary and conceptual approach, Duret explores the boundaries and links between text, image, space, memory, and history while creating a dialogue with photography as a way to bring about historiographic reflections. Her current projects examine memorial sites, dark tourism, intergenerational transmission, and written and oral history.

Die KZ und die Gedenkstätte: Replica I[1] is a reflection on the museification of memorial sites, in this case, the Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site[2] , in Germany. Through photography, archives, text, and exhibition design, the project aims to question the subjective and ethical relationships visitors have with a site that is so highly charged by loss and destruction.

Read more

Built on the grounds of a former gunpowder and munitions factory from Word War I, the Dachau camp opened its doors in March 1933, shortly after the National Socialist Party came to power. Dachau served as a prototype for other concentration camps that opened later and remained operational throughout the Third Reich’s twelve-year history. At the end of April 1945, the camp was liberated by two divisions of the U.S. Army, revealing horrors that are still considered unspeakable today and which most German civilians claimed not to have been aware of.

Today, the concentration camp is a place for commemoration, education, and tourism attracting hundreds of thousands of annual visitors who learn about its historical events in the exact location where they occurred. Many temporally distinct entities thus enter into dialogue through the museification of this site: the concentration camp in operation between 1933 and 1945 as a biopolitical structure of production, domination, and destruction; and the camp as a memorial dedicated to the duty of remembrance, first improvised by the liberators and survivors in 1945, and then managed by the Bavarian State Government from 1965 to the present.

Here, our attention is focused on one of the camp’s architectural elements, the Jourhaus[3] gate, with its cynical inscription Arbeit Macht Frei (“Work sets you free”), a maxim that was integrated into many other camps (Auschwitz, Sachsenhausen, Theresienstadt, Gross-Rosen). Tens of thousands of the Dachau camp’s deportees[4] suffered and died from malnutrition, disease and epidemics, physical and psychological abuse, forced labour, and daily violence at the hands of the SS.

A symbol of death and transition, the gate through which visitors both enter and exit the camp is actually a replica of the original, which itself is installed at the very end of the memorial’s permanent exhibition, just before the commemorative room.[5] Visitors try to photograph the replica from the best possible angle. This is the scene I have also photographed: the camp itself exposed; the replica as object of fascination; a handful of visitors, camera or cellphone in hand, trying to capture the portal through which thousands of deported people have disappeared—who also capture what thousands of other tourists before them have photographed.

Here, the work of remembrance is confronted with the ontological shift that results, on one hand, from the presence of a replica, and on the other, from the visitors’ act of photographing it. In this context, where historical violence is transformed by museological and touristic imperatives, what are we witnessing? Can photography incite us to question and activate the ethical and empathetic links that remembrance requires?[6]While some visitors seem to consider photographing the site disrespectful, others do it unabashedly.  

The contingency of my approach might be considered somewhat of a cliché. I went to Germany with my analogue camera; my instrument of choice despite its obsolete status. It has a limited number of frames, a lack of image definition, unpredictable exposures and chemical processing, not to mention the black and white film—so iconic in the repertoire of concentration camp images, whether taken by persecutors or allies. When these same allies opened the gates,[7] could they ever have suspected the traumatic rite of passage through which they had just been, and from which the deportees would soon emerge? Perhaps my choice of camera has less to do with the desire to produce images than the search for a contingent experience. In this sense, the images I produced are largely dependent on the story of their production, their interpretation and commentary.

Here, a fragmented reflection of the camp’s visual politics collides with the context of SIGHTINGS. The cube is transformed into a temporary memorial box that substitutes visitors of the camp memorial with the viewers and passers-by of the Hall building who are invited to consider how we look back on history. The four photographs place us on the threshold of the camp. We are positioned behind four facing images that form an interior dialogue accessible only obliquely or head-on through the empty space of the cube: a space-time gap, a space to reflect on the distance history irremediably places before us.

 

Emmanuelle Duret

  


[1] KZ (pronounced “kah-tset”) is an abbreviation for konzentrationslager in German, or “concentration camp” in English. Gedenkstätte in German means “memorial site” in English.

[2] It is important to distinguish between the different Nazi camps to understand the fate of the various groups who were imprisoned there: concentration camps, forced labour camps, transit camps, prisoner-of-war camps, and death camps each served a different purpose.   

[3] The Jourhaus is a building located at the entrance to the camp. Jourhaus is a military term that combines the French word jour (day) and the German word haus (house). It was built by detainees in 1936.

[4] In the aftermath of the war, the different deportee groups were often undifferentiated. In France, for example, the term déporté·e was often used indiscriminately, representing first and foremost the figure of the resistant deportee while at the same time ignoring other distinct groups. The use of the term “deportees” here is meant to simplify the text and is not intended to group all fates under the same umbrella. 

[5] The replica was installed for conservation purposes in 2015, after the original was stolen in 2014 and recovered in 2016.

[6] The Dachau memorial offers a post-visit mediation exercise called “Was bleibt?” (“What remains?”) where participants are invited to share thoughts on their visit through photographs representing different parts of the camp.

[7] To borrow the expression from historian Olga Wormser-Migot in her book Le retour des déportés. Quand les Alliés ouvrirent les portes, published in 1965.

Close

Bibliography

Read more

Chéroux, C. Mémoire des camps. Photographies des camps de concentration et d’extermination nazis, 1933-1999 (Paris: Marval, 2001), 246 p.

Didi-Huberman, G. Remontages du temps subi. L’Œil de l’histoire, 2 (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 2010), 272 p.

Marcuse, H. Legacies of Dachau: The Uses and Abuses of a Concentration Camp, 1933-2001 (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2001), 664 p. 

Reynolds, D. “Consumers or witnesses? Holocaust tourists and the problem of authenticity,” Journal of Consumer Culture, vol. 16 (2) (2016): p. 334–353.

Schmidl, M. Postwar Exhibition Design: Displaying Dachau (Köln: König, 2010), 408 p.

Tomas, D. “Photography as Socio-Symbolic Process,” A Blinding Flash of Light: Photography Between Disciplines and Media (Montréal: Dazibao, 2004), p. 81-175.

Close

Emmanuelle Duret lives and works in Tiohtià:ke / Montréal. She has participated in research residencies and group exhibitions at several centres including VU photo, Avatar, and Axenéo7, and is currently completing her Master’s degree in Visual and Media Arts at the Université du Québec à Montréal. Through an interdisciplinary and conceptual approach, Duret explores the boundaries and links between text, image, space, memory, and history while creating a dialogue with photography as a way to bring about historiographic reflections. Her current projects examine memorial sites, dark tourism, intergenerational transmission, and written and oral history.

The artist would like to thank her grandfather, Raoul Duret, a survivor of the Dachau concentration camp and the Allach subcamp, and his father Edmond Duret; my artist friends and invaluable collaborators Christophe Barbeau, Vincent Bonin, Pavel Pavlov, the late David Tomas, Julia Eilers Smith, Michèle Thériault, Hugues Dugas, Anne Renée Hotte, Martin Schop, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum archives in Washington, and the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery.

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 

SIGHTINGS
FICTION

Inauguré en 2012 à l’occasion du 50e anniversaire de la collection permanente de la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, le programme d’expositions satellites SIGHTINGS a été conçu comme une plateforme d’expérimentation et de réflexion critique afin de questionner les possibilités et les limites de l’espace du « cube blanc » moderniste. Ce programme est associé à un module de présentation cubique situé dans un espace public de l’université, que des artistes et des commissaires sont invité·e·s à investir en proposant de nouvelles stratégies de monstration artistique.

Les projets de l’édition 2021-2022 de SIGHTINGS explorent le thème de la fiction comme lieu de réalité en devenir. À l’instar des efforts pour démanteler les fictions pétrifiées en monuments, statues et lieux de mémoire (et pour briser, du même coup, le statu quo qu’elles perpétuent), le programme soulève des questions de mémoire collective, de fidélité de représentation et de validité des faits. Il examinera, plus particulièrement, comment ces questions se déclinent dans l’espace public et l’environnement bâti. Prenant place à l’intérieur et à proximité du cube, les interventions s’intéressent à la façon dont les fictions sont construites et occupent l’espace; aux modèles de vérité et d’oubli qu’elles véhiculent; et à comment elles produisent ce que nous prenons pour réalité.

SIGHTINGS est situé au rez-de-chaussée du Pavillon Hall : 1455, boul. De Maisonneuve Ouest, et est accessible tous les jours de 7 h à 23 h. Le programme est élaboré par Julia Eilers Smith.

SIGHTINGS 33
Die KZ und die Gedenkstätte: Replica
Emmanuelle Duret,726 vers Dachau (détail), 2019. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.
Emmanuelle Duret, Replica I (détail), 2019. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.
Emmanuelle Duret, Replica I (détail), 2019.

Septembre 2021 – janvier 2022

Un projet d’Emmanuelle Duret

Emmanuelle Duret vit et travaille à Tiohtià:ke / Montréal. Elle a effectué des résidences de recherche et participé à des expositions collectives, notamment à VU photo, Avatar et Axenéo7. Elle termine actuellement une maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Par une approche à la fois interdisciplinaire et conceptuelle, elle explore les limites et les liens entre texte, image, espace, mémoire et histoire tout en créant un dialogue avec le média photographique afin d’en faire émerger des réflexions historiographiques. Ses projets en cours abordent les sujets des lieux de mémoires, du tourisme noir, de la transmission intergénérationnelle et de l’histoire écrite et orale.

Die KZ und die Gedenkstätte : Replica I[1] propose une réflexion sur la muséification des lieux de mémoire, dans ce cas-ci, le Mémorial du camp de concentration[2] de Dachau, en Allemagne. Par le biais de la photographie, de l’archive, du texte et du design d’exposition, le projet tente d’interroger les rapports subjectifs et éthiques que le·la visiteur·se entretient avec ce site chargé par la perte et la destruction.

Lire la suite

Construit sur l’emplacement d’une ancienne manufacture de poudre et de munitions datant de la Première Guerre mondiale, le camp de Dachau ouvre ses portes en mars 1933, peu de temps après l’arrivée du parti national-socialiste au pouvoir. Dachau servira de prototype pour les autres camps de concentration qui ouvriront par la suite et restera opérationnel durant les douze années d’existence du Troisième Reich. À la fin du mois d’avril 1945, le camp sera libéré par deux divisions de l’armée américaine, donnant à voir ce que l’on qualifie encore aujourd’hui d’innommable et ce dont la plupart des civil·e·s allemand·e·s prétendaient ignorer l’existence. 

Aujourd’hui, le camp de concentration est à la fois un lieu commémoratif, éducatif et touristique attirant des centaines de milliers de visiteur·se·s par année. Il constitue le lieu même des évènements historiques sur lesquels il entend sensibiliser et éduquer le public. Plusieurs entités temporellement distinctes dialoguent ainsi par la muséification du lieu : le camp de concentration actif de 1933 à 1945, en tant que structure biopolitique de production, domination et destruction, et le camp devenu un mémorial consacré au devoir de mémoire, d’abord improvisé par des libérateur·trice·s et survivant·e·s dès 1945, puis pris en charge par le gouvernement de Bavière de 1965 à aujourd’hui.

Notre regard se dirige ici sur un élément architectural du camp, la porte du Jourhaus[3] arborant la cynique inscription Arbeit Macht Frei (« Le travail rend libre »), maxime qui fut intégrée dans nombres d’autres camps (Auschwitz, Sachsenhausen, Theresienstadt, Gross-Rosen). Des dizaines de milliers de déporté·e·s[4] dans le camp de Dachau souffriront et décèderont des suites de la dénutrition, de maladies et d’épidémies, d’abus physiques et psychologiques, du travail forcé, de la violence quotidienne des SS.

Symbole funeste et de transition, la porte par laquelle circulent les visiteur·se·s, pour entrer ou sortir du camp, est aujourd’hui une réplique de la porte originale, qui se trouve quant à elle installée à la toute fin de l’exposition permanente du mémorial, juste avant la salle commémorative[5]. Une réplique dont la plupart des visiteur·se·s tentent tour à tour de photographier du meilleur angle possible. J’ai moi-même produit des images de la situation du camp exposé, d’une réplique devenue objet de fascination, d’une poignée de visiteur·se·s caméra et téléphone portable à la main qui, en tentant de capter cette entrée qui a vu disparaître des milliers de personnes déportées, ont aussi capté ce que des milliers d’autres visiteur·se·s avant eux·elles ont photographié.  

Le travail de la mémoire se confronte ici au déplacement ontologique issu, d’une part, de la présence de la réplique et, d’autre part, de la prise d’images par tout un chacun. De quoi sommes-nous témoins dans ce contexte de violence historique transformé par des impératifs muséologiques et touristiques? Devenons-nous des témoins ou des consommateur·trice·s de l’histoire? La photographie peut-elle nous inciter à interroger et activer les liens éthiques et empathiques nécessaires au travail de mémoire[6]? Si certain·e·s semblent désapprouver du regard la prise d’images par les visiteur·se·s, d’autres se dédient sans embarras à l’activité.

La contingence de ma démarche en appellera peut-être aux clichés. Je suis partie en Allemagne avec un appareil photographique argentique, un outil de prédilection souvent qualifié de désuet : limitation des prises de vues, perte de définition de l’image, aléas de l’exposition et du développement chimique, sans parler du noir et blanc, si iconique du répertoire photographique des camps, autant du point de vue des bourreaux que des allié·e·s. Ces mêmes allié·e·s, eurent-ils·elles été loin de se douter, lorsque ceux·celles-ci ouvrirent les portes[7], du rite de passage traumatique dans lequel ils·elles s’étaient engagé·e·s et duquel les déporté·e·s commenceraient à émerger. Il s’agit peut-être moins de mon désir de produire des images que de la recherche d’une expérience contingente qui motiva mon choix d’outil de prise de vue. En ce sens, les images produites restent pour le moins dépendantes du récit de leur production, de leurs gloses et commentaires.

Ici s’active une réflexion fragmentée sur la politique visuelle du camp, télescopée dans le contexte de SIGHTINGS. Le cube se transforme en boîte temporelle et mémorielle et place cette fois non pas les visiteur·se·s du camp, mais les visiteur·se·s et passant·e·s du pavillon Hall à réfléchir sur le regard que nous posons sur l’histoire. L’installation de quatre photographies nous laisse en liminalité du camp. Elles nous placent face à un retournement d’elles-mêmes formant, de ce fait, un dialogue intérieur accessible seulement dans l’obliquité du regard ou dans un face à face traversant l’espace vide du cube : la distance d’un espace-temps, un temps pour pouvoir penser l’écart devant lequel l’histoire nous place irrémédiablement. 

 

Emmanuelle Duret

 


[1] KZ (prononcé « kah-tset ») est une abréviation pour konzentrationslager en allemand, « camp de concentration » en français. Gedenkstätte en allemand veut dire « site mémorial » en français.

[2] Il est important de faire la distinction entre les types de camps nazis pour comprendre le sort des différents groupes qui y furent déportés : les camps de concentration, les camps de travail forcé, les camps de transit, les camps de prisonnier·ère·s de guerre et les camps de mise à mort auront tous une fonction particulière.

[3] Le Jourhaus est le bâtiment situé à l’entrée du camp. Jourhaus est un terme militaire provenant du mot français « jour » et allemand « haus » (maison). Il fût construit par les détenu·e·s en 1936.

[4] Au lendemain de la guerre, les différents groupes de déporté·e·s resteront souvent indifférenciés. En France, par exemple, le terme « déporté·e » était souvent utilisé sans distinction, représentant de prime abord la figure du ou de la résistant·e déporté·e et laissant, du même coup, les autres groupes distinctifs dans l’ombre. L’utilisation simplifiée de « déporté·e·s » a ici pour but d’alléger le texte et ne souhaite pas regrouper tous les destins sous un même chapeau.

[5] La réplique fut installée à des fins de conservation en 2015 à la suite du vol de la porte originale en 2014 et retrouvée en 2016.

[6] Le mémorial de Dachau propose un exercice de médiation post-visite nommé « Was bleibt ? » (« Que reste-t-il ? ») dans lequel les participant·e·s sont invité·e·s à échanger leurs impressions sur leur visite du mémorial à l’aide de photographies représentant différentes sections du camp.

[7] Pour reprendre les mots de l’historienne Olga Wormser-Migot dans son ouvrage Le retour des déportés. Quand les Alliés ouvrirent les portes, paru en 1965.

Fermer

Bibliographie

Lire la suite

Chéroux, C. Mémoire des camps. Photographies des camps de concentration et d’extermination nazis, 1933-1999, Paris, Marval, 2001, 246 p.

Didi-Huberman, G. Remontages du temps subi. L’Œil de l’histoire, 2, Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 2010, 272 p.

Marcuse, H. Legacies of Dachau: The Uses and Abuses of a Concentration Camp, 1933-2001, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2001, 664 p.

Reynolds, D. « Consumers or witnesses? Holocaust tourists and the problem of authenticity », Journal of Consumer Culture, vol. 16 (2), 2016, pp. 334 – 353.

Schmidl, M. Postwar Exhibition Design: Displaying Dachau, Köln, König, 2010, 408 p.

Tomas, D. « Photography as Socio-Symbolic Process », A Blinding Flash of Light: Photography Between Disciplines and Media, Montréal, Dazibao, 2004, pp. 81-175.

Fermer

Emmanuelle Duret vit et travaille à Tiohtià:ke / Montréal. Elle a effectué des résidences de recherche et participé à des expositions collectives, notamment à VU photo, Avatar et Axenéo7. Elle termine actuellement une maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Par une approche à la fois interdisciplinaire et conceptuelle, elle explore les limites et les liens entre texte, image, espace, mémoire et histoire tout en créant un dialogue avec le média photographique afin d’en faire émerger des réflexions historiographiques. Ses projets en cours abordent les sujets des lieux de mémoires, du tourisme noir, de la transmission intergénérationnelle et de l’histoire écrite et orale.

L’artiste tient à remercier son grand-père, Raoul Duret, survivant du camp de concentration de Dachau et du sous camp Allach, et son père Edmond Duret, les ami·e·s, artistes et précieux·ses collaborateur·trice·s Christophe Barbeau, Vincent Bonin, Pavel Pavlov, feu David Tomas, Julia Eilers Smith, Michèle Thériault, Hugues Dugas, Anne Renée Hotte, Martin Schop, les archives du musée de l’Holocauste à Washington ainsi que la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen.