Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 

SIGHTINGS is a program of satellite exhibitions initiated by the Leonard and Bina Ellen Gallery in 2012 to examine how we comprehend the exhibition space and the modes of display of artworks. This project refers to four pioneering essays written by the Irish critic and artist Brian O’Doherty between 1976 and 1981 – published together in 1986 as Inside the White Cube: The Ideology of the Gallery Space. In these essays O’Doherty theorized certain issues linked to a modernist conception of the exhibition space that he called the “white cube,” neutral and adaptable; this conception has remained current because it still defines a large number of galleries today. SIGHTINGS was developed to emphasize the persistence and false neutrality of the white cube and provide an experimental platform for artists and guest curators to generate new strategies of display and to test the limits of its adaptability.

A first series of projects were realized by students from the Faculty of Fine Arts. The current series of projects features artists and curators from the larger art community.

SIGHTINGS is located in the ground floor of the Hall Building at 1455 de Maisonneuve Blvd. West

SIGHTINGS 8: You Are So Dead Fly
Adrian Norvid, You Are So Dead Fly (detail), 2013. Courtesy of the artist
Adrian Norvid, You Are So Dead Fly (detail), 2013. Courtesy of the artist. Photo: Paul Simth
Adrian Norvid, You Are So Dead Fly (detail), 2013. Courtesy of the artist. Photo: Paul Simth

November 28, 2013 – February 19, 2014

An installation by Adrian Norvid

Adrian Norvid has created the eighth project in the SIGHTINGS series. Norvid’s You Are So Dead Fly is a new installation that highlights his interest in popular culture: it consists of a large-scale reproduction of a strip of flypaper to which insects have become stuck. With comic-strip-style dialogue bubbles, this paper sculpture gives some of the flies a voice, which they use to make humorous statements linked to their captivity, such as “stick me good, sweet lord” and “oh my God, it’s the sticky thing, I so want a piece of that.”

You Are So Dead Fly draws attention in two ways. First, the display structure sets it apart from the crowded environment of the Hall Building and underlines its status as artwork through its museum-like attributes. Second, its mode of presentation, which isolates it in the centre of the structure and lights it theatrically, amplifies its “spectacular” nature by framing an improbable portrayal of the capture and personification of flies – an unexpected scene to find in a common area of Concordia University.

Read more

In the context of this project, surprisingly, the two elements become proportional in scale because the display unit seems to have been designed expressly to present the oversized flypaper, and their association evokes the vitrines that protect valuable objects in particular types of exhibition. This occupation of the space creates a gap between the humorous, playful, and satirical representation of an everyday object and its presentation. This gives it a museum-like, institutionalized, and precious quality due to the physical characteristics of the exhibition space, therefore contrasting with the artist’s intentions. The structure acts as a magnifying glass, enlarging its content – both literally, given the play on scale, and conceptually, as it underlines the status of the paper sculpture as an artwork. On the other hand, the presentation of a single work in the cube raises the question of the ideal point of view. In this case the artist has created multiple ideal points of view to encourage the circulation of viewers.

Norvid’s installation, You Are So Dead Fly, underlines the power of the presentation apparatus; a power attributed to the shape, color, texture and lighting of a space. More specifically, the installation emphasizes the effects of displaying a single artwork within a white cube. It inevitably refers to the museum space and its ability to spectacularize and attribute purpose.

Close

Adrian Norvid uses paper in all of its forms to create murals, installations, and performances, often characterized by excess. A devotee of popular culture and art, he turns to illustration to address recurrent themes such as rock music of the 1960s and 1970s, the psychedelic movement, and nineteenth-century English caricatures. His works also bring together visual motifs and verbal expressions – often British – to divert the usual meaning of representations and reveal a new meaning that is generally humorous, playful, and satirical.

Norvid is a lecturer in the Studio Arts Department of Concordia University and an artist. He recently presented his work at The Rooms (St John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, 2011), the Julia Karnatz Gallery (Cologne, Germany, 2010), the Art Gallery of Windsor (2009), the Musée d’art de Joliette (2007), the AKA Gallery (Saskatoon, 2005), and AXENÉO7 (Gatineau, 2005). He has also participated in numerous events, including the Symposium d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul (2006), Pop Montréal (2008 and 2009), and the Triennale québécoise presented at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2008). His artworks were the subject of a book titled Nogoodnicks, published in 2011 by Drawn & Quarterly. Norvid lives and works in Montreal, where he is represented by Joyce Yahouda Gallery.

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 

SIGHTINGS est un programme d’expositions satellites conçu par la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen pour réfléchir à notre compréhension de l’espace d’exposition et de la présentation des œuvres. Ce projet fait écho à quatre essais phares écrits par Brian O’Doherty entre 1976 et 1981 – regroupés sous le titre White Cube. L’espace de la galerie et son idéologie (traduction française, 2008) –, où l’auteur et artiste irlandais théorise certains enjeux liés à une conception de l’espace d’exposition moderniste. Une conception de l’espace qu’il qualifie de « cube blanc » neutre et adaptable, et qui est pérenne puisqu’elle définit un grand nombre de galeries actuelles. SIGHTINGS a été mis en œuvre pour souligner la persistance et la fausse neutralité du cube blanc, et créer une plate-forme d’expérimentation pour que des artistes et commissaires invités génèrent de nouvelles stratégies de mise en espace et évaluent les limites de l’adaptabilité d’un véritable cube blanc.

Un premier cycle diffusait des projets réalisés par des étudiants de la Faculté des beaux-arts. Un deuxième cycle, en cours, présente des projets réalisés par des artistes et commissaires de la communauté artistique élargie.

SIGHTINGS est situé au rez-de-chaussée du Pavillon Hall au 1455 boul. de Maisonneuve Ouest.

SIGHTINGS 8. You Are So Dead Fly
drian Norvid, You Are So Dead Fly (détail), 2013. Avec l'aimable autorisation de l'artiste
Adrian Norvid, You Are So Dead Fly (détail), 2013. Avec l'aimable autorisation de l'artiste. Photo : Paul Simth
Adrian Norvid, You Are So Dead Fly (détail), 2013. Avec l'aimable autorisation de l'artiste. Photo : Paul Simth

28 novembre 2013 au 19 février 2014

Une installation d’Adrian Norvid

Adrian Norvid est l’auteur du huitième projet conçu pour SIGHTINGS. Dans ce contexte, il présente You Are So Dead Fly, une nouvelle installation qui démontre son intérêt envers la culture populaire puisqu’elle consiste en la reproduction à grande échelle d’un ruban attrape-mouches sur lequel des insectes se sont collés. Activée par des bulles de dialogue qui rappellent le mode d’opération de la bande dessinée, cette sculpture de papier donne la parole à quelques mouches qui communiquent des affirmations humoristiques liées à leur captivité, telles que « stick me good, sweet lord » ou « oh my God, it’s the sticky thing, I so want a piece of that ».

You Are So Dead Fly attire l’attention de deux manières. D’une part, son support de présentation la distingue de l’environnement achalandé de l’édifice Hall et souligne son statut d’œuvre grâce à son esthétique et ses attributs muséaux. D’autre part, son mode de présentation tend à la rendre « spectaculaire » puisque l’isolement de l’œuvre dans le module et l’éclairage théâtral concentrent notre attention sur une scène improbable de personnification et de capture de mouches, inattendue dans le contexte d’une aire commune de l’Université Concordia.

Lire la suite

Dans le cadre de ce projet, il est étonnant de constater que l’échelle des deux éléments devient proportionnelle alors que l’association du module d’exposition et l’attrape-mouches surdimensionné évoque les vitrines de présentation protégeant les objets précieux dans un certain type d’expositions. Cette occupation de l’espace crée un décalage entre la représentation humoristique, ludique et satirique d’un objet de la culture populaire, et son support de présentation qui lui attribue une nature muséale, institutionnalisée et précieuse, due aux caractéristiques physiques du dispositif, allant à l’encontre de l’esthétique de l’œuvre. Le dispositif fait ainsi office de loupe puisqu’il magnifie son contenu, littéralement compte tenu du jeu d’échelle, et conceptuellement puisqu’il souligne le statut d’œuvre de la sculpture de papier. Par ailleurs, la présentation d’une seule œuvre dans le module soulève la question du point de vue idéal. Dans ce cas-ci, l’artiste a tenté de favoriser la circulation des visiteurs autour du module en multipliant les points de vus idéaux.

L’installation You Are So Dead Fly, réalisée par Adrian Norvid, informe une fois de plus sur le pouvoir des dispositifs et des modes de présentation, soit un pouvoir reposant sur la forme, la couleur, la texture et l’éclairage attribués à un espace. Plus précisément, elle informe sur les effets de l’exposition d’une seule œuvre au sein d’un cube blanc référant inévitablement à l’espace muséal – la spectacularisation et la consécration.

Fermer

Adrian Norvid utilise le papier sous toutes ses formes pour créer des murales, des installations et des performances, souvent caractérisées par l’excès. Adepte de la culture et des arts populaires, il recourt à l’illustration pour aborder des thèmes récurrents tels que la musique rock des années 1960 et 1970, le mouvement psychédélique et les caricatures anglaises du XIXe siècle. En outre, ses œuvres associent des motifs iconographiques et des expressions verbales – souvent britanniques – pour détourner le sens commun des représentations et révéler un sens nouveau, généralement humoristique, ludique et satirique.

Norvid est chargé de cours au département de Studio Arts de l’Université Concordia et artiste. Il a récemment présenté son travail à The Rooms (St John’s, Terre-Neuve, 2011), à la Galerie Julia Karnatz (Koln, Allemagne, 2010), à la Art Gallery de Windsor (2009), au Musée d’art de Joliette (2007), à la AKA Gallery (Saskatoon, 2005), à Axe Néo 7 (Gatineau, 2005). Il a également participé à de nombreux événements dont le Symposium d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul (2006), Pop Montréal (2008 et 2009) et la Triennale québécoise présentée au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2008). Ses œuvres ont fait l’objet d’une publication intitulée Nogoodnicks, et publiée en 2011 par les éditions Drawn & Quaterly. Adrian Norvid vit et travaille à Montréal, où ses œuvres sont représentées par la Galerie Joyce Yahouda.