Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
SIGHTINGS I: Inondations
Anne-Marie Proulx, Césures : Tout embrasser, 2012. Vidéo, 13min. 11s. Collection of the artist.
Raymonde April, Tout embrasser (extrait 268/517), 1973/2001. Silver print mounted on galvanized steel.
Collection of the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Concordia University. Purchase - Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Acquisition Endowment, 2003. Photo: Richard-Max Tremblay.
Raymonde April, Tout embrasser (extrait 268/517), 1973/2001. Silver print mounted on galvanized steel.
Collection of the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Concordia University. Purchase - Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Acquisition Endowment, 2003. Photo: Richard-Max Tremblay.
Photograph taken by my father, Pierre Proulx, after the flooding of the family cottage at Saint-Lambert de Lauzon, spring 1986.

April 5 – May 18, 2012

A project by Anne-Marie Proulx
With artworks by Raymonde April

Anne-Marie Proulx is interested in the effects of accumulation and regrouping of photographs in Raymonde April’s artistic practice. In the context of Sightings I: Inundations, Proulx examines the influence of the photographs’ presentation context on their reception, their capacity to evoke other images, as well as the correspondences that could emerge between them.

This project proposes three investigations into Raymonde April’s artwork Tout embrasser: two photographs extracted from its original 517 components; the eponymous publication which contains reproductions of the two exhibited photographs, revealing their relationship to the others in the April’s series; as well as a personal and narrative interpretation of the artist’s images.

Read more

Inundations
Two large photographs: in one, a woman sweeps her sidewalk; in another, cement blocks are scattered over an unidentified setting. These images are from Tout embrasser by Raymonde April, a work that is the result of a retrospective of more than thirty years of her career and is based on research that the artist did within her personal photo archive. April selected 517 images that had never been exhibited: together, they became the basis for a film in which a stream of photographs goes by according to the rhythm of a hand that removes them one by one. In 2001, this project was the subject of an exhibition at the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, where these same photographs were exhibited on the walls while the film was presented as a video installation. The exhibition also featured a selection of enlarged photographs and was accompanied by a publication. Functioning by accumulation and appearing in varying configurations, April’s images merit being viewed as a whole to understand their potential relationships and meanings. The photographs refute self-referentiality: they mingle, get mixed up, and recount stories that at times seem to be our own. With their seemingly familiar and wonderful banality, they enter our imaginations. In this way, our own images and memories are able to slip in among the photographs. Standing before these large-scale photographs, it becomes more difficult to let our imaginations flow freely. Isolated from the other 515, these two large photographs affirm themselves with a presence that fills our gaze, yet remain but two images within a world of many.

The first time I looked at this image, I saw big, broken chunks of ice on the banks of the Chaudière River. In winter, a thick layer of ice forms above the floes that follow the current towards the Saint Lawrence. It cracks during the spring thaw, releasing shards of ice on the water’s surface. On its winding route, ice accumulates in a tight bend in the river, forming an obstruction that each year poses a threat to the houses by the river. Once when the ice overflowed onto the land around my family’s cottage, my father took pictures while it was being cleaned up. It was these that came to mind when I saw the cement blocks in Raymonde April’s photograph.

Anne-Marie Proulx is an interdisciplinary artist and writer based in Montréal. She is currently an MA student in Art History at Concordia University, where she also completed a BFA in Studio Arts, after a year at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University in Halifax, Nova Scotia. She is a member of the artist-run centre Centre des arts actuels Skol, and is co-founder of the publishing collective Palindromes. Her work has been exhibited in Québec, Nova Scotia, and British Columbia.

Raymonde April is a photographer based in Montréal. She teaches photography at Concordia University since 1995. Her artworks have been presented in several artistic events throughout Canada and Europe. She is the recipient of such prizes as the Ministère de la culture et des communications du Québec’s Prix du Québec Paul-Emile Borduas in 2003, as well as the Ontario Arts Foundation’s Paul de Hueck and Norman Walford Career Achievement Award for Art Photography in 2005. She is represented by the Donald Browne Gallery in Montréal.

Close

Anne-Marie Proulx wishes to thank Raymonde April, Johanne Sloan, le Fonds de recherche sur la société et la culture (FQRSC), the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC), Hydro-Québec, as well as the Faculty of Fine Arts and the School of Graduate Studies of Concordia University.

The Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery’s contemporary exhibition program is supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
SIGHTINGS I. Inondations
Anne-Marie Proulx, Césures: Tout embrasser, 2012. Vidéo, 13min. 11s. Collection de l’artiste.
Raymonde April, Tout embrasser (extrait 268/517), 1973/2001. Épreuve argentique marouflée sur aluminium.
Collection de la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Université Concordia. Achat - Fonds de dotation Leonard & Bina Ellen pour l’achat d’œuvres d’art, 2003. Photo: Richard-Max Tremblay.
Raymonde April, Tout embrasser (extrait 278/517), 1974/2001. Épreuve argentique marouflée sur aluminium.
Collection de la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Université Concordia. Achat - Fonds de dotation Leonard & Bina Ellen pour l’achat d’œuvres d’art, 2003. Photo: Richard-Max Tremblay.
Photographie de mon père, Pierre Proulx, prise après l’inondation du chalet familial de Saint-Lambert de Lauzon, au printemps 1986.

5 avril au 18 mai 2012

Un projet d’Anne-Marie Proulx
Avec des œuvres de Raymonde April

Anne-Marie Proulx s’intéresse aux effets de l’accumulation et du regroupement de photographies dans la pratique artistique de Raymonde April. Dans le cadre de Sightings I. Inondations, elle examine l’impact de leur contexte de présentation sur leur réception, la capacité des photographies à interpeller d’autres images, ainsi que les relations qui sont susceptibles de se développer entre elles.

Ce projet propose trois regards sur l’œuvre Tout embrasser de Raymonde April : deux photographies extraites de l’ensemble de 517 composantes, la publication éponyme qui contient une reproduction des deux photographies exposées et qui révèle plus clairement leur relation avec les autres composantes de l’œuvre, ainsi qu’une interprétation plus personnelle et narrative des images de l’artiste.

Lire la suite

Inondations
Deux grandes photographies s’imposent : une femme balaie son trottoir, des blocs de ciment jonchent un terrain vague. Ce sont des images tirées de Tout embrasser, une œuvre de Raymonde April qui résulte du projet d’une rétrospective de près de trente ans de carrière à travers une recherche de l’artiste dans ses propres archives photographiques. April avait sélectionné 517 images jusque là jamais présentées qui ont formé la base d’un film où les photographies défilent au rythme d’une main qui les emporte une à une. En 2001, ce projet avait fait l’objet d’une exposition à la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, où ces mêmes photographies avaient été étalées au mur et le film adapté en installation vidéo. L’exposition était complétée par des agrandissements de quelques ensembles d’images et accompagnée d’une publication. Apparaissant souvent sous différentes formes et en accumulation, les images d’April sont appelées à être survolées pour comprendre des relations et significations potentielles. Les photographies se refusent à l’autoréférentialité : elles se mélangent, se confondent, et racontent des histoires qui paraissent parfois être les nôtres. Empreintes d’une banalité fabuleuse qui peut nous être familière, elles entrent dans nos propres imaginaires. C’est ainsi que nos images et souvenirs peuvent arriver à se faufiler entre les photographies. Devant des agrandissements, il devient cependant plus difficile de laisser voguer notre imagination. Ici isolées des 515 autres, les deux grandes photographies élèvent leur présence. Dans toute cette prestance, elles inondent le regard, mais elles demeurent deux images dans un monde d’images.

La première fois que mon regard a effleuré cette image, j’ai vu de gros morceaux de glace échoués au bord de la rivière Chaudière. Pendant l’hiver, une épaisse couche de glace se forme au-dessus des flots qui continuent de courir vers le Saint-Laurent. Elle se fissure lors de la fonte au printemps, libérant ses éclats sur la surface de l’eau. Sur leur route sinueuse, les glaces vont s’accumuler dans un tournant aigu, où se forme un embâcle qui chaque année menace les habitations riveraines. Les glaces se sont échappées une fois pour aller se poser sur le terrain tout autour du chalet de ma famille. Au moment du nettoyage, mon père les avait photographiées. Ce sont ces images que j’ai imaginées en voyant les blocs de ciment photographiés par Raymonde April.

Anne-Marie Proulx est une artiste et auteure qui vit et travaille à Montréal. Elle est étudiante à la maîtrise en histoire de l’art de l’Université Concordia, où elle a également complété un baccalauréat en arts visuels, après l’avoir débuté au Nova Scotia College of Art and Design à Halifax en Nouvelle-Écosse. Elle est membre du Centre des arts actuels Skol et co-fondatrice du collectif d’édition Palindromes. Son travail a été présenté au Québec, en Nouvelle-Écosse et en Colombie-Britannique.

Raymonde April est une artiste photographe qui vit et travaille à Montréal. Elle enseigne la photographie au département de Studio Arts de l’Université Concordia depuis 1995. Ses œuvres ont été présentées dans le cadre de plusieurs manifestations artistiques au Canada et en Europe, et lui ont valu plusieurs prix dont le Prix du Québec Paul-Emile Borduas du Ministère de la culture et des communications du Québec en 2003, et le Paul de Hueck and Norman Walford Career Achievement Award for Art Photography, de la Ontario Arts Foundation, en 2005. Le travail de Raymonde April est représenté par la Galerie Donald Browne, Montréal.

Fermer

Anne-Marie Proulx tient à remercier Raymonde April, Johanne Sloan, le Fonds de recherche sur la société et la culture (FQRSC), le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH), Hydro-Québec, ainsi que la Faculté des beaux-arts et l’École des études supérieures de l’Université Concordia.

La Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen remercie le Conseil des Arts du Canada de son soutien à la programmation contemporaine.