Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
OUT OF GRACE
Five spaces, five weeks, five performers and five visual artists
Image: Yann Pocreau

November 3 – December 11, 2010

A project by Lynda Gaudreau in five phases

Exhibition Opening
Wednesday November 3, 5:30 – 7:30 pm

Artists: Alexandre David, Jérôme Fortin, Aude Moreau, Yann Pocreau and Chih-Chien Wang
Performers: Karina Iraola, Anne Thériault, Émilie Morin, Amélie Bédard-Gagnon, Marilyne St-Sauveur
Intern-performers: Josianne Latreille, Josiane Fortin, Anouk Thériault, Élise Bergeron, Marie-Pier Bazinet, Corinne Crane-Desmarais, Nancy Rivest, Catherine Lepage, Karenne Gravel, Chantal Hausler, Andrée-Anne Ratthé, Eugénia Khoury, Chloe Millsop-Melançon, Raphaëlle Perreault, Amélie Rajotte, Gabrielle Surprenant-Lacasse
Extras: Jeanne Dubé-Blanchet, Ariane Dubé-Lavigne, Anne Trudel, Eve Leclair, Olivia Lathuilliere, Marie-Pier Morin, Renée-Anne Patenaude-Blais
Creative Assistance: Matteo Fargion and Anne Thériault
Lighting: Alexandre Pilon-Guay
Sound Design: Alexandre St-Onge

Coproduced by the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery and Lynda Gaudreau | Compagnie De Brune.

Event
Ways of Thinking

Montreal choreographer Lynda Gaudreau has developed a project for the Gallery’s exhibition spaces. This hybrid and experimental project, at the borders of choreography and exhibition making is at once a choreographed exhibition and an exhibited choreography that questions the nature and relationship of these practices.

What might an exhibition beginning with dance and ending with visual art be? From its opening to its closing, how does the exhibition space include the living body? How does this body coexist with the artworks in the contested space of the gallery?

In and with the space itself, OUT OF GRACE, employs choreographic tools in rethinking the white cube. Choreography is not restricted to the body but also addresses the organization and continual construction of space. Visual artists have been invited to create works over the five weeks during which the exhibition takes place, thus encouraging the public to visit the gallery repeatedly. Over time the works and the exhibition spaces will be transformed, as will the visitor’s experience.

OUT OF GRACE is both dynamic and playful. Elementary devices such as sound, lighting and the presence of the body draw the visitor in and activate modes of display and perception, addressed here according to a performative and compositional logic. What is entailed by these modes when works coexist with the body? How does experiencing sound, lighting, their activation and deactivation become a tool to sharpen our perception? Little by little, the white space of the Gallery is filled by intensities, by a noise that immerses it in silence, in a dense and mute experience of the body, the object and space.

The Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery’s contemporary exhibition program is supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
OUT OF GRACE
Cinq salles, cinq semaines, cinq interprètes et cinq artistes visuels
Image : Yann Pocreau

3 novembre au 11 décembre 2010

Un projet en cinq étapes de Lynda Gaudreau

Artistes : Alexandre David, Jérôme Fortin, Aude Moreau, Yann Pocreau et Chih-Chien Wang

Interprètes : Karina Iraola, Anne Thériault, Émilie Morin, Amélie Bédard-Gagnon, Marilyne St-Sauveur

Stagiaires-interprètes : Josianne Latreille, Josiane Fortin, Anouk Thériault, Élise Bergeron, Marie-Pier Bazinet, Corinne Crane-Desmarais, Nancy Rivest, Catherine Lepage, Karenne Gravel, Chantal Hausler, Andrée-Anne Ratthé, Eugénia Khoury, Chloe Millsop-Melançon, Raphaëlle Perreault, Amélie Rajotte, Gabrielle Surprenant-Lacasse

Figurantes : Jeanne Dubé-Blanchet, Ariane Dubé-Lavigne, Anne Trudel, Eve Leclair, Olivia Lathuilliere, Marie-Pier Morin, Renée-Anne Patenaude-Blais

Assistants à la création : Matteo Fargion et Anne Thériault

Éclairages : Alexandre Pilon-Guay

Conception sonore : Alexandre St-Onge

Une coproduction de la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen et de Lynda Gaudreau | Compagnie De Brune.

Vernissage de l’exposition
Mercredi 3 novembre de 17 h 30 à 19 h 30

Événement
Pistes de réflexion

La chorégraphe montréalaise Lynda Gaudreau a conçu un projet pour la Galerie dans ses aires d’exposition. Ce projet hybride et expérimental, aux confins de la chorégraphie et de l’exposition, à la fois exposition chorégraphiée et chorégraphie mise en exposition, suscite un questionnement quant à la nature et l’imbrication de ces pratiques.

Que serait une exposition commençant en danse et se terminant en arts visuels ? Comment l’aire d’exposition intègre-t-elle le corps, de l’ouverture à la fermeture du lieu ? Comment le corps vivant coexiste-t-il avec les œuvres dans l’espace de la galerie, et avec la forte signification de ce lieu?

Dans et avec l’espace, OUT OF GRACE emprunte les outils de la chorégraphie afin de repenser le cube blanc de la galerie. La chorégraphie ne se limite pas seulement au corps, mais également à l’organisation et à la construction constante de l’espace. Les artistes visuels ont été invités à penser leurs œuvres sur les cinq semaines de l’exposition. Ainsi au fil du temps, les œuvres et les salles d’exposition se modifieront, transformant à chaque coup l’expérience du visiteur, qui sera incité à venir plus d’une fois.

OUT OF GRACE se présente de manière ludique et dynamique. Le public est interpellé dans sa visite par des éléments simples tels le son, la lumière et la présence du corps qui deviennent des moyens d’activer le faire voir qui est envisagé ici dans une logique performative et de composition. Quels sont les enjeux du faire voir quand les œuvres coexistent avec le corps? Comment l’expérience du son, de la lumière, leur activation et désactivation deviennent-ils des outils pour aiguiser notre perception? L’espace blanc de la galerie est rempli, par petites quantités, par des intensités, par un bruit, un noise, pour mieux plonger dans le silence et dans une sorte d’expérience épaisse et muette du corps, de l’objet et de l’espace.

La Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen remercie le Conseil des Arts du Canada de son soutien à la programmation contemporaine.