Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 
OUT of SIGHT
Photo: Paul Litherland/Studio Lux
Photo: Marlene Millar
Photo: Paul Litherland/Studio Lux
Photo: Paul Litherland/Studio Lux

January 13 – February 17, 2018

A project by Lynda Gaudreau

Opening
Saturday, January 13, 3 – 5 pm

Performer: Karina Iraola with the participation of Lynda Gaudreau
Lighting: Lucie Bazzo
Sound Design: Alexandre St-Onge
Set Design Assistance: Annie Lebel
Video Installation Assistance: Marlene Millar
Art Collection: Martin Tétreault

Produced by the Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery

Lynda Gaudreau acknowledges the support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Gallery would like to thank the Department of Design and Computational Arts Department, Concordia University, for their technical support.

Events
Ways of Thinking

OoS is the story of an exhibition in development. It is part of the series OUT by Lynda Gaudreau (LG). OoS for OUT of SIGHT is concerned with what is outside our field of vision but that nevertheless acts upon our perception.

OoS also recounts the story of K, the project’s dancer, Karina, who is participating in an exhibition project in a gallery. This project includes a film where she plays an actress. The script is unfinished and the film does not yet exist. Time is running out. With the exhibition approaching, LG decides to show the scenes already shot in one of the rooms of the gallery while continuing to develop the script during the five weeks of the exhibition.

OoS is additionally the story of a gallery that has unwittingly become material for the project. Its constituting parts (walls, plinths, collection), as well as everything that surrounds but doesn’t enter it, all contribute to the project’s raw material.

In the presence of K, the visitor, V, is invited to a guided experience during which they can complete the story and images offered to them. Depending on their availability, they can chose between two versions of the project: fifteen or forty minutes. Of course, V can change their mind and leave the gallery at anytime…

While not necessarily interactive, the project depends on the presence of V without whom it could not start. The visit commences only upon their arrival. It is through their presence and gaze that they contribute to the exhibition’s emergence.

OUT is a series initiated in 2009 by Lynda Gaudreau to explore that which doesn’t fit into a system: the misfit, the margin, and aesthetic, political and social eccentricity. Within this framework, the Gallery commissioned Gaudreau in 2010 to create OUT of GRACE, a project at the intersection of choreography and visual art where the living body occupied the Gallery’s five spaces in parallel with several visual works that evolved over a period of five weeks.

Lynda Gaudreau is an artist, choreographer, curator and researcher interested in experimental and radical practices. Oftentimes minimal, her work engages with densities of time and space, and evolves in series. How material, as well as immaterial, forms relate to choreographic processes within the frameworks of images and their presentation in space is the focus of her current research.

Lynda Gaudreau has worked internationally, notably in a close relationship with the Flemish cultural scene. The Théâtre de la Ville de Paris coproduced and presented her work over seven years. She collaborated with the Venice Biennial and has exhibited at the Architectural Association School of Architecture, London (AA). Gaudreau is based in Montreal.

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 
OUT of SIGHT
Photo : Paul Litherland/Studio Lux
Photo : Marlene Millar
Photo : Paul Litherland/Studio Lux
Photo : Paul Litherland/Studio Lux

13 janvier au 17 février 2018

Un projet de Lynda Gaudreau

Vernissage
Samedi 13 janvier de 15 h à 17 h

Interprétation : Karina Iraola avec la participation de Lynda Gaudreau
Éclairage : Lucie Bazzo
Conception sonore : Alexandre St-Onge
Collaboration à la scénographie : Annie Lebel
Collaboration à l’installation vidéo : Marlene Millar
Collection de tableaux : Martin Tétreault

Produit par la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen

Lynda Gaudreau remercie le Conseil des arts du Canada de son soutien ; la Galerie remercie le département de design et des arts numériques de l’Université Concordia pour son appui technique.

Événements
Pistes de réflexion

Plan de l’exposition

OoS c’est l’histoire de la création d’une exposition qui continue de se développer. Le projet artistique s’inscrit dans la série OUT de Lynda Gaudreau (LG). OoS pour OUT of SIGHT, s’intéresse à ce qui est en dehors de notre champ de vision mais qui pourtant agit activement sur notre perception.

OoS, c’est aussi l’histoire de K, Karina, la danseuse du projet qui participe à un projet d’exposition dans une galerie. Le projet inclut un film dans lequel elle joue une actrice. Le scénario n’est pas terminé, le film n’existe pas encore, mais le temps file, l’exposition approche et LG doit présenter son exposition, elle décide de montrer les scènes filmées dans une des salles de la galerie et de poursuivre le développement du scénario tout au long des cinq semaines de l’exposition.

OoS est également l’histoire d’une galerie devenue à son insu le matériel du projet ; ce qui la constitue (murs, socles, collection) tout autant que ce qui l’entoure et qui n’y entre pas contribuent à la matière même du projet.

En présence de K, le.la visiteur.euse, V, est convié.e à une expérience guidée où il.elle peut compléter l’histoire et les images qui lui sont soumises. Selon le temps qu’il.elle a à sa disposition, il.elle peut choisir entre les deux versions du projet : la version de quinze minutes ou la version intégrale de quarante minutes. Et bien sûr V peut changer d’idée et quitter la galerie en tout temps…

Sans être foncièrement interactive, la présence de V est essentielle au projet ; sans lui.elle le projet ne peut débuter, la visite guidée démarre lorsqu’il.elle arrive. C’est par sa présence et son regard qu’il.elle contribue à l’émergence de cette exposition.

La série OUT de Lynda Gaudreau a été amorcée en 2009. Elle explore ce qui n’entre pas dans un système, le « misfit », la marge et l’excentricité esthétique, politique et sociale. Déjà en 2010, la Galerie invitait Gaudreau à réaliser le projet OUT of GRACE entre la chorégraphie et l’art visuel où le corps vivant occupait sur cinq semaines les cinq espaces de la Galerie en parallèle avec l’évolution d’œuvres visuels.

Artiste, chorégraphe, commissaire et chercheuse Lynda Gaudreau est particulièrement intéressée par les pratiques expérimentales et radicales. Son travail le plus souvent minimal, joue essentiellement sur des quantités de temps et d’espace et s’élabore au sein de séries. Les formes matérielles — et immatérielles surtout — que peuvent emprunter les procédés chorégraphiques dans le champ de l’image et de sa mise en espace sont au cœur de sa recherche actuelle.

Lynda Gaudreau a collaboré avec de nombreux lieux de la scène contemporaine internationale. Mentionnons, notamment, son lien étroit avec la culture flamande, ainsi que ses collaborations avec le Théâtre de la Ville de Paris qui a coproduit et diffusé son travail pendant près de sept ans, la Biennale de Venise et plus récemment l’Architectural Association School of Architecture (AA) à Londres.