Send us a message
Name


Email


Message
 

The Gallery’s collection is the result of collecting practices implemented by the various individuals who successively held the positions of Gallery director and curator of the collection. It highlights the important role of the visual arts in the development of research and knowledge. It serves as a tool to rethink museum methodology, art history and the relations between art and other professional fields. The works in the collection are studied and exhibited at the Gallery as part of critical exhibitions, loaned to various art institutions and reproduced in publications. Moreover, they are made available to researchers, students, writers, professors and publishers.

Krista Belle Stewart, Seraphine: Her Own Story, 2014. Still from the video

In the winter of 2017, the Gallery acquired four new video works by Canadian artists Jo-Anne Balcaen, Moyra Davey, Isabelle Pauwels and Krista Belle Stewart. These works expand a coherent videographic corpus, which was formed mainly in 2011 and 2013 with acquisitions of works by Raymonde April, Sophie Bélair Clément, Olivia Boudreau, Brendan Fernandes, Nelson Henricks and Leisure Projects. The videos in the collection explore various narrative, methodological and structural aspects of the medium, while raising numerous questions about the creative process, language, relationships between reality and fiction, temporality and human subjectivity, among others.

The gallery’s current collecting activities are also part of a commitment to actively participate in ongoing debates on the decolonization of art institutions, through a greater inclusion of Indigenous voices and perspectives within its various programs. The purchase in 2013 of three prints by Kent Monkman inaugurated a practice of systematic and important acquisitions of works by recognized contemporary Indigenous artists. Accordingly, Seraphine: Her Own Story (2014) by Krista Belle Stewart and Raymond Boisjoly’s Author’s Preface (2015), both acquired in 2017, represent significant additions to the collection.

Moreover, this structured development of the collection takes into consideration the history of contemporary art by targeting major works by Quebecois and Canadian artists produced in the second half of the twentieth century and associated with the gallery’s exhibitions history. In the last few years, the gallery has explored this secondary mandate within its acquisition program to fill important gaps in the collection—in particular with regard to conceptual art.

Écrivez-nous
Nom


Courriel


Message
 

La collection de la Galerie est le résultat de pratiques de collectionnement mises de l’avant par les personnes ayant agi successivement à titre de directeurs de la Galerie et de conservateurs de la collection. Elle met en valeur le rôle significatif des arts visuels sur le développement de la recherche et du savoir. Elle constitue un outil pour repenser la méthodologie muséale, l’histoire de l’art et les rapports entre l’art et d’autres champs professionnels. Les œuvres de la collection sont étudiées et exposées à la Galerie dans le contexte d’expositions critiques, prêtées à différentes institutions de diffusion et reproduites dans des publications. En outre, elles sont mises à la disposition des chercheurs, étudiants, auteurs, professeurs et éditeurs.

Moyra Davey, Fifty Minutes, 2006. Captation d’image extraite de la vidéo

À l’hiver 2017, la Galerie a acquis quatre nouvelles œuvres vidéo réalisées par les artistes canadiennes Jo-Anne Balcaen, Moyra Davey, Isabelle Pauwels et Krista Belle Stewart. Ces œuvres viennent enrichir un corpus vidéographique cohérent, qui a été constitué principalement en 2011 et 2013 par des acquisitions de Raymonde April, Sophie Bélair Clément, Olivia Boudreau, Brendan Fernandes, Nelson Henricks et Leisure Projects. Les vidéos conservées dans la collection explorent différents aspects narratifs, méthodologiques et structuraux du médium vidéographique, tout en soulevant de nombreuses questions à propos du processus de création, du langage, des rapports entre réalité et fiction, de la temporalité et de la subjectivité humaine, entre autres.

Les récentes activités de collectionnement de la Galerie s’inscrivent également dans une volonté de participer activement aux débats en cours sur la décolonisation des institutions artistiques, par une plus grande inclusion de voix et de perspectives autochtones au sein de ses différents programmes. L’achat en 2013 de trois estampes de Kent Monkman a inauguré en ce sens une pratique d’acquisition systématique et conséquente d’œuvres d’artistes autochtones contemporains reconnus. À ce titre, la vidéo Seraphine : Her Own Story (2014) de Krista Belle Stewart et l’installation murale Author’s Preface (2015) de Raymond Boisjoly, toutes deux acquises en 2017, représentent des apports important à la collection.

En outre, le développement structuré de la collection prend en considération l’histoire de l’art contemporain en ciblant des œuvres majeures d’artistes québécois et canadiens produites dans la seconde moitié du 20e siècle, et étant liées à l’historique des expositions de la Galerie. Dans les dernières années, ce volet secondaire du programme d’acquisition a permis de combler des lacunes importantes dans la collection, notamment en matière d’art conceptuel.